Company Holidays Are Awesome!

And They Make Gratitude Feelings in My Happiness Place

Shayne Seymour
3 min readNov 25, 2018

Even if you love your job, you need some time away. If you don’t like your job then it’s all about weekends, vacations days and holidays. Maybe even sick days.

Photo by Sven Scheuermeier on Unsplash

Do you ever think you’d be better off with the flu?

Go Home, Sneezy!

This one guy at work was really sick last week. He was coughing and hacking — yes, hacking. I won’t go too far into the details.

After rumblings here and there between, “He really should just go home,” somebody finally said it to him.

Dude, maybe you should go home.

“He’s going to get somebody sick.”

“He’s going to get us all sick.”

“A couple sick days sound nice, just sleeping and watching tv.”

“I heard that.”

Time off, in general, isn’t just nice. It’s necessary.

They’re better when they’re planned, though. On purpose. And when they don’t count as a vacation day. Not as good if you’re sick.

Grateful Company Holidays

Usually, they’re for holidays. We just had one for Thanksgiving. Thanksgiving is a bonus in many cases. You get two holidays in one: Thanksgiving Thursday and Stay-Home-and-Avoid-Shopping Friday.

Up next: Christmas Day and New Years Day.

Even if you don’t celebrate any of those days, isn’t it nice to enjoy a day off?

I do celebrate those days, but if they gave us a company holiday for Australia Day, I’d be “Aussie Aussi Aussie oi oi oi!!”

In case you’re counting, it’s just 63 days to Australia Day as of this writing. Depending on what time zone you’re in.

We don’t have the Friday after Thanksgiving off. If you’ve read my stories you know I’ve used up a few vacation days. I had to work the day after Thanksgiving for the first time in over 20 years. It wasn’t too bad.

Not having Friday off only made Thursday that much better!

Use Your Days Off Well

Take a break from the daily. Spend time with loved ones. Rest your body, mind and soul. Even if you don’t want to. You can return to your job refreshed and ready to go!

If you’ve read my stories you know I’m not wild about my day job. You know I’m grateful for my work friends! I’m grateful for the job. (Oooh, maybe tomorrow!) I’m just not in love with it.

So I’m definitely grateful for company holidays.

Yes, that is an easy thing to be grateful for. It’s an obvious one.

The difficulty and creativity of the item you’re grateful for isn’t the point. I could be dreading going back to work tomorrow, but instead, I’m focusing on my gratitude for the holiday I had last week and two holidays I have in the next few weeks.

That’s one way gratitude builds happiness.

Calls to Action

Be Grateful for that clap button! Wear it out. Please share and leave some comments.

Follow me and see how long I keep up the (almost) Daily Gratitude Thing.

If you’d like more humor and happiness, go download the Independently Happy Prescription for Happiness.

--

--

Shayne Seymour

Happiness is my superpower. Travel, Gratitude and Mindfulness are my Infinity Stones. Humor is my Patronus. www.IndependentlyHappy.com