Discrete vs. Continuous

The Chronicles of a Data Rookie
1 min readDec 30, 2021

--

ID: Tableau functionalities

Sometimes I struggle with my charts (maybe most of the time!) especially when I want to have a better insight into my data trends over a certain period of time. I tend to mix up counting and measuring data (and they are really two different things, Shazeera!) and this sometimes affects the messages that my charts convey as well as causes me to choose the wrong charts for the wrong reasons! In Tableau, the discrete dimension and continuous measure help me put my thinking in perspective. It allows me to understand what the data I have are capable of showing ( i.e. their roles) and what insights they could bring. In Matrix, Neo is offered the red and blue pills as choices to learn a painful truth or remain ignorant of it. In Tableau, you are offered the blue and green pills to help you assign your data role i.e. discrete dimension and continuous measure. Other than the Matrix reference, I also use my cat as a way for me to remember the concepts better and of course, a comprehensive Tableau article on this subject here.

--

--