MENTAL HEALTH

Sheeza Fatima
2 min readAug 20, 2021

--

PROBLEM STATEMENT

Many mental health issues remains uncured due to lack of awareness in masses and being considered a taboo concept in our society.

Let’s have and insight

In this COVID situation the most common thing I observe that how unhappy And upset in last 2 years. When I am thinking about my PW work the first idea came into my mind is about how we were so stress full in last years .but we never consider in a serious issue like we consider physical issue .Then I realized before corona we face mental health issue but we did not consider is a serious issue .In our Pakistani society no one want to consult a psychiatrist . And due to lack of awareness in Pakistan people even did not know they have some mental health issues.

In Pakistan, mental disorders account for more than 4% of the total disease burden, with the mental health burden higher among women. It is estimated that 24 million people in Pakistan are in need of psychiatric assistance.

The five main warning signs of mental illness are as follows:

· Excessive paranoia, worry, or anxiety.

· Long-lasting sadness or irritability.

· Extreme changes in moods.

· Social withdrawal.

· Dramatic changes in eating or sleeping pattern.

Opinions of the people who have faced this:

· My sister after MDCAT test face the depression for 2 months but we did not realized about it .and never consult o psychiatrist.

· My cousin faced a serious attack of depression. Because of his son illness. And her condition was worse than her son .sever pain .weight loss disturbance in sleep. After 1 year of continuously using of medicine and when no result came so the doctor suggested a psychiatrist. And then her mental treatment started and she got better with time.

Benefits of research:

While researching about this topic I came to know the non-serious behavior of many people toward this disease even many of us don’t even consider it a disease also I get to know it symptoms and early steps to take for its treatment with which I can not only help myself but others also in future.

--

--