The Awakening

FourtyTwo
2 min readMar 20, 2018

--

My name is David Bradmann. I have spent all my life in this town. It’s called Merry Town. When I hear about rest of the world, I feel my home is trapped in time. Nothing much has changed here as far as I can remember. And I have spent 50 years of my life here. For last 25 years, I am the law here. I am the Sheriff.

Every day in my town is same. The smell of dust is same. The smell of cow dung is same. Everything is same. I don’t understand the obsession of people with cows here though. Everyone has some of them. They grow them with a lot of love. And then they send them to the butcher house. Never understood this.

I think no one wants to be here. But no one leaves too. They hate this place and they are stuck. At least in their minds. There are not many people though. 768 to be precise. Everyone knows everyone here. Almost everyone here is agitated and bored. To hear a laughter you may have to walk couple of miles here.

Well, the point of this story is not how nothing here changes. But it’s about when something changed.

On May 13, 1995, there was a call came in my office. It should be 10 AM. About the time when you can see people on the road. Someone had found a dead body near the city dump. The caller was an old man taken his dog out for a walk.

Now at Merry Town we never had such crimes. Last biggest crime was 2 years back when someone reported a stolen TV. But this time it was for real. We had a case in our hands and we knew “shit” about what to do.

By the time the case closed, the Town had changed.

“For next chapter read this

--

--