UIUX Case Study: My First Case Study for Designing a Home Gardening App

Shekhar Chauhan
4 min readAug 11, 2023

--

Introduction

One day I was scrolling Instagram and saw the post for UI/UX Challenge from WebX Community, and they were also giving prizes to Winners. This is my first experience with an online contest. The given problem statement is to Design a user interface for a Home Gardening App that provides personalized plant recommendations and care instructions based on the user’s location and climate. After seeing the problem statement, I never knew what to do first and how to do it; this is The first Full App I designed. That’s why I was excited about designing the app.

So let’s see the entire process of how I Designed the app. Let’s Go…

About Us

Hello, I’m Shekhar from Lucknow, India. I’m a self-taught UI/UX Designer. I learn UI/UX from Youtube, and My Mentor is Ansh Mehra. Everything I’ve learned is because of him. I aim to become a Best Product Designer.

About App

Home Gardening is a mobile app designed to simplify home gardening for beginners. The app provides personalized plant recommendations and care instructions based on users’ location and climate. It aims to make gardening accessible and enjoyable for users with limited experience by providing easy-to-follow guidance and a user-friendly interface.

Problem Statement

When I Researched the app, I found many individuals interested in gardening need more knowledge and guidance to get started. They often need help selecting the right plants for their location and need help to understand how to care for them properly.

Solution

The challenge was clear: how to nurture the love for gardening amidst bustling lives? The app was the answer; it provides personalized recommendation plants and care instructions to help beginners grow thriving plants.

User Flow Chart

Style Guild

Visual and Features

Onboarding

The app includes a simple onboarding process to collect users’ location and climate zone information and their gardening experience level.

Personalized Recommendations

The app provides a curated selection of plants based on the user’s location and climate, helping them choose suitable plants for their specific conditions.

Plant Details and Care Instructions

Each plant listing includes detailed care instructions, including watering frequency, sunlight requirements, temperature preferences, and soil type. The instructions are presented in a concise and easy-to-understand format.

Task Management and Reminders

Users can set reminders for watering, fertilizing, pruning, and other essential gardening tasks. The app sends notifications to help users stay on track with their plant care routine.

User-Friendly Interface

The app features a clean, intuitive user interface, easy navigation, and clear visual cues. It aims to provide a seamless and enjoyable user experience.

Conclusion

I hope you Enjoyed My First Case Study, and I will tell you something about the contest. You must be wondering whether I won the competition or not. Unfortunately, I was not selected, but I learned a lot of things, and I am happy because my name is in the Top 8. I want to thank the WebX Community for giving me this great opportunity. Big Thank You also for reading my article till the end. If you like my content, give me your precious time to provide feedback.

Thank You so much for reading Full My case study.

Check out my stunning Behance Presentation. I guarantee that you will love it!

--

--

Shekhar Chauhan
0 Followers

UI/UX Designer | Future Tech Enthusiast