How to manage the best crew ever!

Shelby Huntsman
4 min readJun 1, 2017

--

When I was about to graduate high school, I got an amazing a opportunity to be a Store Manager. I was already a shift manager so I didn’t think it would be that hard as i already lead shifts as the sole leader. I learned something…

Running a 6–12 hour shift in charge is WAY different than running an entire store.

I was NOT trained well for this position, really at all. So i put together a list of what I have learned through trial and error to help you on your next big jump to managing people!

I am responsible for 40 crew members, 2 shift leaders, and 6 shift managers.

https://s-media-cache-ak0.pinimg.com/originals/54/d5/41/54d5416541ce9f7ccdcf6c5c3812cf85.jpg

Everyone is different

This is something I had to learn through A LOT of trial and error. When I got my promotion I had to move locations. I didn’t know anyone who worked there but I liked it that way because I am their boss, not their friend so it was good to have that boundary. I figured I would fix the problems I had at my original store and do it the same at my store. This is very wrong. Everyone is different. Their morals, their work ethic, their demographics, their dreams, every part of a person is different from the next. This is something you need to know going in!! What makes one person work harder may make another person lose interest. This leads me to another point…

Get to know everyone first

If you were promoted and staying in the same store/unit/etc, you may think you don’t need this step but you do! Knowing someone professionally is different than knowing them personally. The first mistake I made was being their boss and that was it. People will respect you more if you take the time to get to know them. Find out what makes them tick, what makes them happy, what motivates them to do well in life, and use that information when dealing with them. An encounter with a 17 year old boy who plays football and loves cares is going to be way different than a 16 year old girl who plays in the band and loves art. They work different, figure this out and your crews possibilities of success is unlimited.

Delegate

Delegating means spreading the workload out. As a store manager, I am responsible for everything for the store. It’s a never ending list. It is a lot of work and I don’t do it alone! I have a group of 6 shift managers & 2 shift leaders who all have one designated job, this goes with their title. More Money = More Responsibility. Most people want responsibility in the workplace, they want to prove what they can do. I do give them jobs based on their personality and don’t have any problems with it!

Example: I have a senior who is in NHS and student council and is very organized! I placed her on filling out inventory sheets for me to review before I make the order. This is something I can trust her with because she is very neat,organized, and after almost 8 months has NEVER been late. They will excel if you set them up for success!

Reward

This is a big one! As someone who worked tirelessly as a shift manager and crew before my position, I was always lacked appreciation from my manager. There was no morality and it brought the entire place down! Having someone do something then telling them they did a good job with a little token, means more to someone than you know. This is recognized that their hard work isn’t going unnoticed! This pushes people to keep going, this pushes someone to work harder, this is how you will have a great team that respects you and wants the business to achieve! (Post on Employee Appreciation with reward ideas and what I do coming soon!!)

Stay Connected

After the above tips, you should have a very good crew on your hands! The beginning is officially over but you are never done! Make sure to stay connected as much as appropriate. I don’t like to over-communicate and become annoying but an absent manager is far worse than anything else. This is what makes the crew not care, you need to keep their eyes on the prize. Do this with group messages, meetings, brag boards, little notes, etc. There is always something to work on so make sure you set not only yourself up for success but also your crew, your leaders, your managers, and your store.

(If you want a post on how to stay connected with your crew, let me know on yourbossbabe.com or click this link!)

http://m.favim.com/image/3445840/

--

--