Winning The Lottery

Michelle Bixler
5 min readOct 3, 2016

I am truly blessed by the outpouring of love and support that I have received from everybody during this journey. I never in a million years would have expected such a heartwarming response from so many on my “Cancer Free” post. When I read the comments over the following days, it brought tears to my eyes. I was so deeply overcome with gratitude and I still am, even as I type. I had to take some time to reflect upon my thoughts and feelings for you all to know the profound impact that has been marked on my heart. The words that I type will never be enough to express what I feel for you all. Thank you so very, much! Thank you! Thank you! Thank you! Thank you!

It was my time up at bat on our cancer team and I never once thought “why me”. I always accepted it. Cancer is a sh*t show. It’s a very, crappy lottery that I won, but it beats The Lottery of being stoned, at least I was given a fighting chance. However, our cancer team is growing at an alarming rate. It is estimated that over 1.6 million people in the United States will be diagnosed with cancer this year. In the estimated new cases of cancer, breast cancer holds 1st place at 29% and in estimated deaths it comes in 2nd at 14%. So, 246,660 people are being diagnosed this year with breast cancer and 40,450 will die from it. Cancer shows no discrimination among age and unfortunately, you don’t have to be 18 to get in line for this lottery. Over 10,000 children from ages 0–14 will be diagnosed this year with some type of cancer. You can download the 2016 Cancer Facts & Figures report here.

Today, the medical field has changed when you are considered to be in remission. In the past you were not given the clear until chemo and/or surgery was completed, being that you passed all of your tests. Now, you are considered to be cancer free once the tumor/tumors are surgically removed from you, but you are not considered cured until after 5 years of being in remission. Of course, winning the cancer lottery was not enough because my active cancer cells were eager to win the chemo lottery, too. Go figure. I dreaded the thought of chemo. Why should I go, if the doctor said that I am medically considered to be in remission? I won that battle and I knew for a fact that I would not win the chemo round. Regardless, I had to pull up my big girl panties, as a friend said to me a long time ago and slay that “C” which meant chemotherapy must be completed to kill any hiding cancer cells. I was tossed on the ropes and thrown to the ground losing 8 times in that dumb ring. I persevered through it by mentally considering it a game of chess knowing the true match is when I can be in remission and finally be able to say checkmate. I realized my life is forever changed and I have been marked with the Scarlet Letter of “C” but I will not let it consume me. I will not let the cancer suicide vest detonate my happiness in life and I am happy to report that I have phased into the remission lottery which is where I would like to stay. I am quite content being here.

I definitely hit the jackpot on the family and friends’ lottery! This is by far the best lottery to win. The support system from everybody has been surreal. I tried to avoid the support system in the beginning because it was uncharted water for me and left me feeling uncomfortable. I am use to giving, not taking, but everybody made that impossible to do which I am extremely thankful for your persistence and kindness that was shown. I learned to accept help and I learned that it is okay to be vulnerable. (Even Wonder Woman has her moments.) I truly appreciate all of your encouragement during this journey. Thank you for your prayers and continued prayers. Thank you so much for the comments and likes on my “Cancer Free” Facebook post. Thank you for all of calls and texts. I have an overwhelming feeling of gratefulness to all of you. Each and every one of you has made a positive impact during my life and some more recently by your unexpected support and selflessness. You have changed my life for the better. Thank you. I am honored to have this amazing group of strangers, acquaintances, friends and family uplift me when I fell. This road would have been much darker, quieter, lonelier, and sadder without your good vibes, love and cheers. (The bar has been set very, high.) Thank you so much!

In retrospect, life is a lottery every single day. We win some and we lose some, but we never stop playing the game. We cheer each other on and support each other during the good, the bad and the ugly. We are never alone, even at the darkest of hours. When you experience a rough patch in life, don’t ask yourself why is this happening. Ask yourself these questions, instead. What opportunity does this offer me? How can I grow from this experience to be the best version of me? Instead of living a bitter life; live a better life. Every day we have the opportunity to show love and kindness to our family, friends and strangers. Share a smile. Hold a door open for someone. Say good morning. Like a picture. Add a nice comment. Give a hug. Text or call your friends. Make plans to see them. Stand up for people. Teach your children to be kind. Tell the people you care about thank you and that you love them as I do to you. I am thankful to have such a caring community of wonderful people behind me. Now, cheers to you all for being so incredibly awesome and kind! Wishing you all love, happiness and blessings!

--

--

Michelle Bixler

"Great minds discuss ideas; average minds discuss events; small minds discuss people." - Eleanor Roosevelt