My favorite things 2016: VI

Sheldon Rocha Leal, PhD
8 min readDec 28, 2016

--

by Sheldon Rocha Leal

At the end of each year I generally do a list of the songs and artists that have most influenced me in that year. This is my 6th list and hopefully there will be many more to come, but after this year’s casualties I’m not quite sure. It has been a tough year in music, we have lost many of our great icons: Prince, David Bowie, George Michael, Leon Russell, Merle Haggard, Natalie Cole, Maurice White, Glen Frey, Sir George Martin…it was just ridiculous.

So back to the business at hand, the list for 2016…

1. Mariah Carey

I know that many consider her to be candy floss, but I love her and I think that she is probably one of the best voices of the Pop era, which is validated by her overwhelming commercial success. I got to see her for the first time ever this year and boy was it good. Her tour in Johannesburg at the Dome, was everything I expected: It was flash, glitter, over the top and brilliant. She’s an amazing diva and I loved every minute of the show (worth every cent). The year carried on to be a Mariah year, she launched her E! Series and we got an additional dose of Mariah at Christmas time, as we always do. She’s a legend and I hope for many more years of amazing music.

2. James Corden

James Corden is a British comedian, who is the host of the Late Late Show on CBS. One of the segments on the show is Carpool Karaoke, in which he asks a famous music celebrity to accompany him on his way to work. I just loved watching all the Carpools: Bruno Mars, Madonna, Lady Gaga, Adele. Such an awesome concept.

3. Jack Garratt: Breathe Life

This was one of my favorite songs of the year. I love the way that the chorus is introduced in this song. It’s just a powerful song. It is featured on Jack Garratt’s debut album: Phase. The song has a strong Electro Indie Pop/1960s sound. Love this new artisanal music vibe dominating the scene.

4. Lady Gaga: A-Yo

This song is from the Lady Gaga album: Joanne. The song has a distinct Pop/Country sound and was produced by one of my favorite producers Mark Ronson, the same man responsible for the Amy Winehouse album: Back To Black. The song has such vibe and vigor. Just love listening to this song, it makes me happy.

5. Sia: Cheap Thrills

I listened to this song about a million times. I love Sia and this song encapsulates the fun side of the star. Sia is an Australian born singer/songwriter who has written for many artists. This song is featured on her 7th studio album: This Is Acting. This song was produced by Greg Kurstin. The song peaked at No1 in the USA and sold over 5,3million units internationally.

6. Justin Timberlake: Can’t Stop The Feeling

This song, by Justin Timberlake was included as the theme song on the Trolls motion picture soundtrack. The song was produced by Max Martin and Shellback, this phenomenal Swedish duo has produced work for many big name artists. The song peaked at No1 in the world and sold over 5,6million units internationally. The song has a very 1980s Michael Jackson Pop feel. It’s just a fun, summer song.

7. Corinne Bailey Rae: Hey, I Won’t Break Your Heart

This was a single from Corinne Bailey Rae’s third album: The Heart Speaks In Whispers. The song has a strong acoustic guitar Folk sound. The message and tone of the song is very melancholic. I find Corinne Bailey Rae a bit of a tragic figure, after losing her husband, to a drug overdose, after the release of her first solo album.

8. Ariana Grande: Greedy

I’m not the biggest Ariana Grande fan, I find her voice a little generic, but this song is really cool and I love the key change towards the end of the song. This song is featured on Ariana’s third album Dangerous Woman. It is another Max Martin production, which means perfect Pop confectionary.

9. Coldplay feat Beyoncé Knowles: Hymn For The Weekend

This song is from Coldplay’s 7th studio album A Head Full Of Dreams. The song features Beyoncé Knowles. The song has a bit of an oriental sound. I just love the powerful flow of the song. The song went on to sell over 2,6million units internationally and was a major hit across the world.

10. Alicia Keys: In Common

I love the stripped down nature of this song. This song is featured on Alicia Key’s 6th studio album Here. The album has a tropical, dancehall flava. I really loved her lopped performance at the BET awards, it was probably one of the best live performances I’ve seen the whole year.

11. Bruno Mars: 24K Magic

I fell in love with this song the first time I heard it. I love the R&B, Disco, Hip-Hop, Funk sound. It sounds like a sound that would have charted in the 1980s. What a pleasure on the ears. This song is featured on Bruno Mars’ third studio album of the same title. This guy is slowly making quite a name for himself in the music business.

12. P!nk: Just Like Fire

P!nk is becoming a modern legend. This song was used as the theme song on the Alice: Through The Looking Glass motion picture soundtrack. This was another Max Martin/Shellback production. This song sold over 1,5million units internationally. The song has been nominated for a Grammy Award. It has a strong rock/Pop sound and is a nice power pop song.

13. Lukas Graham: 7 Years

This song is featured on the Danish Soul-Pop band’s first studio project. The song has been nominated for three Grammy Awards in 2017. The song peaked at No2 in the USA and sold over 6million units internationally. The song has a really cool soul, pop, folk sound.

14. Gwen Stefani: Make Me Like You

This song is from Gwen Stefani’s third album This Is What Truth Feels Like. This is another fun song and has a 1970s feel. I just the love the feel of the song. The song has a nice Ska, Pop sound with a distinct retro feel. Very smooth.

15. Alabama Shakes: Don’t Wanna Fight

I love this band and their blend of Rock/Blues and Soul. This song was featured on their second album Sound and Colour and it won 2 Grammy Award in 2016. This band is all kinds of great and I love them.

The Most Overrated Artists of 2016

These guys to me were the most overrated artists of 2016. They were overhyped and the music wasn’t as good as everyone made it out to be and for that they are now on my overrated list of the year:

1. Drake

Although he is one of the top rappers at the moment, his music is not distinctive, I don’t like his rapping style and I think that the hype that surrounds him is not deserved.

2. The Chainsmokers

The Chainsmokers are a new EDM band and they have had some major hits this year. I just don’t find their music to be good or distinctive, it’s just boring. I don’t dig these guys.

3. The Weeknd

This guy is on my list for a second year in a row. Not even his performances with one of my favorite bands of all time, Daft Punk, have made him cool for me. He is just boring.

4. The Pentatonix

These guys are trying to make Acapela cool and for me they are just not cutting it. I don’t enjoy them and I don’t enjoy their performances. They are only going to be able to take this act so far.

5. Beyoncé

I don’t see what people see in Beyoncé. She keeps on breaking records and dominating charts, but her act has changed very little over the years and she hasn’t really introduced something new and refreshing. What’s with the hype?!

This is my list of loves and hates in 2016 and I hope that I’m around to write another list of favorites in 2017. I can’t wait for the music that is in stall for us in the year to come, I hope that it furnishes us with some awesome new sounds. May you all have an awesome 2017 and see you, this time next year, with my next bundle of favorites.

--

--

Sheldon Rocha Leal, PhD

Musicologist, Musician, Songwriter, Music Business Enthusiast and Music Teacher