A visit to Dr. Martin Luther King and Loretta Scott King’s resting place in Atlanta, GA.

Personal Reflection: MLK Day, 2018

Shelton Davis
2 min readJan 16, 2018

I took yesterday off, Monday, January 15th 2018, in order to observe Dr. Martin Luther King’s birthday. It is the first of many days that will shape the way I think, the way I interact, and the way I am confidently driven to lift up those around me. Yes, my day wasn’t all dedicated to service as I found myself on a roller rink for a 7 year old’s birthday party and at the grocery story getting the week’s fill. Life continues, but a quote from MLK struck me today more than many others.

“It may well be that we will have to repent in this generation. Not merely for the vitriolic words and the violent actions of the bad people, but for the appalling silence and indifference of the good people who sit around and say, “Wait on time.”

I’ve heard myself say things like, “Wait on time” and be patient. Patience is a virtue if and only if it is part of directed action. I am now going to check myself hourly to make sure that my silence isn’t a reflection of the fear that is creeps around inside me. I am going to take action with family and take action with friends to lift up an agenda focused on human interaction, inclusion, and social investment.

Thanks for listening. How can I help you? What social causes are you a part of that I can encourage your continued action?

--

--

Shelton Davis

Supporter of AMAZING people! Founder @TheEmpathyLab. Past UX Leadership @Terminus @OperableInc @Chef @FirstData. Husband, father, & recovering decathlete.