A Note to My Younger Self

Farhana Shereen
2 min readJan 8, 2024

--

If you ever get a chance to meet your younger self, what would you say?

Here’s what I would say:

The Good, The Bad, everything has changed. We now have a bag full of mixed emotions.

Remember the silly snacks that we used to fight for? Those sugary snacks we used to eat after school? We don’t like it anymore. Do you remember the ice candy that had many flavours? We are not fascinated by them now. Has our tongue changed during all these years? Do you remember the games we played that we once wished to play the whole day? We are not interested in that anymore.

A lot of things happened. A lot of things changed. Life has taken us on a different path than what we have dreamt once. We didn’t like it first. We were disappointed. And sometimes, life will give you lemons. But trust me, we’ll find contentment in what we are. We’ve learned to embrace the ups and the downs, the good and the bad. We’re just doing good. And that’s all that matters at the end.

I hope I’m making you proud.

So, thank you for making me who I am today, and I miss being you.

To my readers, you’re wasting your time being insecure. Don’t let the thought ‘what others think/say’ drive your actions or thoughts. Embrace everything — your wins, flaws, and failures. Because those will be the only keys with which you can open the locked doors.

Don’t get caught up in the uncertain thoughts about the future. Live in the moment. Give your best. Have a positive attitude.

Remember, life can give you apple juices too. Trust me, better days are coming…

--

--

Farhana Shereen

Content Writer! Embracing the wonders of life through the written word