The Most Powerful Books For Personal Growth That I Have Read.

Sherina Shamdasani
4 min readApr 1, 2019

--

I was never that person who would pick up books at the school library to read. Actually, I would even struggle reading the books I was assigned in English class. I used to laugh at those “nerds” at school who would gather up and share their thoughts about the books they read — although I secretly envied them…!

When I went to University things changed. But not only after I graduated was I interested in constant learning and therefore I found the power of self-study and personal growth through books. The knowledge and perceptions I get from the books I read help me in countless ways! Not just improving my reading, language, and communication skills, but has opened my mind in understanding and receiving valuable information that I apply in my day to day life.

Today I want to share the most powerful books I have read (so far) that have massively influenced my personal growth. These books spoke directly to me and have helped me shift my mindset and my behaviors — helping me perform better and get better results from life.

The Power Of Now

This book teaches us to focus on living in the present moment, in the here and in the now. We are conditioned by our limiting beliefs as we focus on the past and/or worry about a future that doesn’t even exist.
It has taught me that the more present I am the more I can notice what is going on in my mind. Eckart Tolle tells us to watch our thoughts as it is controlling our lives. Because of this, it is so important to become self-aware and be the observer of your thoughts. The book gives us some techniques to focus on being the observer, freeze our thoughts, and become aware so we can place attention to the present.

The Monk Who Sold His Ferrari

This book is a self-help classic. It tells us the story of a successful lawyer whose life transformed completely when he understood that there was more to life than just his career and the “success lifestyle” we have all been brought up to believe by society. The protagonist of this book, the lawyer, goes to study the seven virtues of the Sages of Sivana in the Himalayan mountains and he takes us along in his journey of teachings.
There are three important lessons learned from this book;
1. Use The Heart of the Rose exercise to become mindful about your thoughts.
2. Develop a simple 10-step morning routine. (The sages suggest to use the Ten Rituals of Radiant Living that will help us live a better and quality life).
3. Remember to serve and teach others all you know with no expectations of receiving anything in return. This will help us feel better as we are contributing to other’s wellbeing.

The Subtle Art Of Not Giving A Fuck

This book reminds us that it is not all about living and aiming for a happy life but one that is meaningful to us. Mark, the blogger, suggests us to focus on things we can control and things that actually are important for us and that will help us improve and become the persons we want to become.
Our lives have ups and downs, but it is our decision to place our attention to what we want. It is figuring out what really matters to us and focus on that.
Moreover, he also suggests important lessons of living in the present instead of focusing on building an empire or even being liked by everyone. Instead, focus on becoming your best version day by day and enjoy the journey of constant learning, improving, and growing.

4-Hour Work Week

This book has been very helpful in my journey as a self-employed entrepreneur. It shows us how to let go of the mindset around corporate jobs and all the other alternatives there are.
Tim Ferris shows us what is possible for us to live a lifestyle that suits our values, our dreams, and our visions. He gives us the tools and empowers us to validate all our business ideas, to be effective, and to sell quality.
He also suggests something that has been very valuable to me; to focus on just a few things that will have a great impact and greater progress than focusing on many things that aren’t meaningful to me and will lead me to nothing.

Think And Grow Rich

This is one of the most famous success books of all! It speaks about how we need to focus on our mind in order to become rich in any area we desire (money, wealth, spiritually, etc). It gives us the “how to’s.”
Napoleon Hill teaches us how to control our minds and our thoughts so that we can become rich. He also helps us think about a clear and definite purpose so we can then set goals we are willing to achieve. What is that ONE thing you desire to accomplish?
This book has taught me that whatever I set my mind to and whatever I think, will happen. If I think I am able to achieve something, it means I can achieve it. If I believe I am not good enough, then I will consciously or unconsciously think and behave in ways to prove that I am not good enough.

--

--

Sherina Shamdasani

Psychologist and coach who travels while guiding and supporting others in finding their inner strength and building self-worth!