The Story of Simon’s Silent Love

Sherin Ruben
3 min readMar 31, 2024

--

This blog is about someone who feels unsure and confused, exploring their thoughts and feelings. None of the characters in this story are real, they’re all made up.

Hey, it’s Simon Stanford here. I want to talk about something that’s been on my mind for 13 years. It’s about a girl, and I’ve never stopped feeling the same way about her.

It all started when I saw her smile for the first time. It was like a warm hug on a cold day. She had this calming presence about her, and her eyes were so comforting. I’ve met a lot of people, but none like her. It’s not exactly love, but it’s a strong connection. I remember the first time I saw her with her friend. All I could think about was her purple bag. It sounds silly, but it’s the little things that stick with you. I always wanted to talk to her, but I was too scared. Even though I knew where she lived and had her number, I couldn’t bring myself to reach out. We were in the same school, but I never had the courage to talk to her. I never said anything, but my feelings for her never went away. She’s always been on my mind.

Watching her from a distance became a regular thing for me. I’d see her chatting with friends and deciding what to eat at the canteen. It made me curious about what she liked and what she did. I always wished I could sit with her, hear about her day, and share in her laughter.

Each morning, I’d start by looking for her, hoping to catch a glimpse before classes began. And every day, I’d end by watching her in prayer, finding comfort in seeing her at peace.Her success in school mattered to me more than anything else. I prayed for her to do well, even more than I prayed for myself. I started to believe in the things she believed in and liked the things she liked.

I even started doing things she enjoyed, like spending time with kids, and indeed convinced my dad to buy a Ford like hers. And when it came to my studies, I worked hard with the hope of sitting next to her in the next grade.

After a couple of years I remember the first time she rode on my two-wheeler, I was extra careful, making sure everything went smoothly. Visiting her house just to see her, even if it was from afar, became a regular thing for me. Picking out a birthday card for her was surprisingly hard, I wanted it to be just right. Even after all these years, I still remember her favorite dish, color, movie actor, friend, and every little detail about her. Each memory is precious to me, and I wouldn’t trade them for anything. I never wanted to stand out or be special, all I ever wanted was to see her happy.

I might not have a clear plan, but I’ve always dreamed of living close to her, making sure she is happy, and being someone she can trust no matter what. Recently, a dream about her inspired me to write down these feelings. I know I’m not perfect, and I never had any secret intentions. Even though I have her number, I’ve never messaged her first, I know she’d reply. I’ve realized that what I feel for her goes beyond friendship or love. It’s something deeper.

--

--