The Week That Was(TWTW):

Sherin shajan
2 min readOct 28, 2018

--

20th October 2018 - 28th October 2018(week1)

21st October

21st October was an unforgettable day for me. For the first time, I created a website, a channel of my own and uploaded my introductory video on YouTube. This was the task given by the WITx program for the selection purpose. Another task was creating a website using google sites. I felt so interested in doing all these things. Creating a website was not a much harder task. But it gave chance to get an idea about how to make a website. The task of creating an introductory video was not easy for me. Program coordinator had strictly informed that the video must make public. This made me take a step back. But I decided to do that. Because this is an opportunity to build up my confidence. So I took this as a challenge for me, made a video and posted.

October 25
On 25th October at 11.56 pm I received a mail from WITx program team saying “you have been selected to Rethink’s WITx Learning Program.
I was so happy and felt contented. That moment made me realize that I can do something more. I have that potential.
On that day itself, we were requested to confirm our participation.

October 26
On 26th October at 12.11am I received an email regarding joining the telegram group and twitter. And also informed that there will be a live session from 7–8pm.
In the evening the live program started by sharp 7. It was an introductory live session by Ms Arya Murali who gave a clear image of the WITx program. The next half was a task for us. #DISCOVER and #CONNECT.
#DISCOVER was our first task. We were asked to find 3 opportunities like a conference, internship or hackathon that we like and tweet it within 15 minutes. Due to the network issue, I couldn’t submit it on time. But I really made best out of it. This was the first time I tweet. In total, we got 200+ opportunities within a short span. From this activity, we got the realization that lots of opportunities are around us. Unless we initiate to figure it out none of them will come to us.

October 27
The second and last activity for this week was #CONNECT. We were supposed to watch an interview conducted by a participant in cohort 1. This was to be uploaded on or before 28th October at 11.59 pm.

October 28
As a part of #CONNECT, I watched an interview conducted by Elsa Maria George. She interviewed Mehul Smriti who is a 2017 Student of Vision ABIE winner. Summary of that was uploaded in medium.com. It was the first experience of writing a blog.
Now I feel like my shells are started to break up. Hope in a short span I will fly too.
Eagerly looking forward…

--

--