Debunking Myths about Single people

Seyi Olutoye
3 min readFeb 16, 2023

--

First, how was Valentine? When I wasn’t busy trying to fulfil work demands, I was awwwwwing and grinning at my phone for lovers with ‘love is sweet oo… like’ comments here and there. When I wasn’t doing that I was laughing and howling because what are those memes and pick-up lines🤣🤣.

To whom it may concern, to the singles and ‘engaged’ alike. The following are NOT the characteristics of being single okay? T for thanks!

1. Single people are miserable and lonely: If your solution to being miserable and lonely is a relationship, ah wahala wa o. Try discovering purpose, making new friends, getting a job, touching God, seeing a therapist, you know, the list goes on. Don’t put somebody’s child in danger💀

2. Singleness is a condition that needs to be managed and endured: I have heard people ask the weirdest questions, ‘How are you coping?’ How are you coping, as in??? With a toothache or a sprain in your neck? Oh please fgs. It’s not a sickness or a challenge to be endured. There is a sweet -wholesome life outside of a relationship, so pending the time you get there no matter how long it takes, enjoy it!

Meme Break 😄

3. Our lives are incomplete / We are missing out: We are not walking around with a hole in the middle of our chest only a partner can fill. Someone walked into my DM unprovoked to tell me how no matter what I achieve, my life is incomplete without a man. Hahahaha *laughs in the peace of mind that is the block button* oh well, Jesus is a man. I have suffered in this life sha.
Relationships are beautiful and enjoyable, and so is being single. You are not missing out on anything because you refuse to settle for less or compromise. You are not inadequate because you are single. Even if you decide to stay single for the rest of your life, you are equally as complete as when you are married. Purpose in Jesus is the solution to the void you feel not a relationship.

4. Single people are pitiable: Is it just me or there is this weird pity vibe and tone people give to someone who has been searching for a while? Anyhoos, being single and searching is not a sob story to throw a pity party for, it’s not a weakness, it’s not suffering, it’s quite the opposite. Waiting makes us stronger, so you can hold on to that droopy face, the ‘eehyahs’, and the ‘hang in theres’. He already hung, so we don’t have to hang (Dry jokes matter hahaha) A time is coming when you will need it but this, my friend, is not one of the occasions for it.

5. We must be doing something wrong; Hence, why we are not in a relationship: We just might not be doing anything wrong but minding our business, sipping omi garri and celebrating other people in love.

Have you ever been on your own, enjoying life and somebody slides into your DM and disrupts your mood with unsolicited advice? In this little age that I’m in ehn, I’ve heard all sorts. ‘join the choir, that’s where people will see you better’, ‘your days are numbered as a lady, put yourself out there nah’(please give me billboard money😭 I won’t reject it I promise) ‘You are too reserved’, ‘you are not positioning yourself very well’ Abbl. Ehnehn? Epele o personal Advisor to PMB on interpersonal relationship affairs, I assure you it’s not necessary.

P.S. Unpopular opinion- You can celebrate love without subbing single people. Oh, You didn’t know? ‘Have they posted your picture today or I should face front’, ‘did you get flowers or should I keep quiet? Actually please do keep quiet.

Shalom Shalom 🙏🏽🚶🏽‍♀️🚶🏽‍♀️😁

--

--

Seyi Olutoye

I don't consider myself a writer, I just enjoy how I feel putting my thoughts into words.