Rita Morais

Hacking Medium: Covert Your Account to Publication

Shina Charles Memud
2 min readNov 4, 2016

--

Easier to keep single account and share your stories on multiple publications

I have been using Medium for the past 2 years and I don’t think I’ll turn back, I have learnt so much by spending my time here and Quora than checking what my high school friend did last weekend on Facebook ..hehe

Anyways, going to the main point. I created my account here using my work account and here are the problems I faced while using this account:

  • Unable to personalize a comment or my response, everything goes under my company profile
  • Unable to write an article for other projects I’m working on without it reflecting as the company profile. I really want it separated
  • Everything becomes WE and not I even when its just I

After a while, I started getting frustrated and realize its time to to do something about it, but but but … what about?

  • Keeping the same URL for the article links I shared in the past
  • Keep using the same username as the publication link
  • Keeping all my followers

Obviously, deletion wasn’t an option. So here is what I did to create a personal profile and still have my articles and previous account as publication

From settings

  • Changed my email address
  • Disconnect from work Twitter account and connect my personal account (which makes it easy to also connect Facebook profile)
  • Change username (this is important because you need to use that username for your publication)
  • Make sure you “Sign out of all other sessions”. For some reason when I signed out and sign in again, I was still seeing the previous account info
  • Created the publication (I guess you know what to do here)

After those changes, all I had to do next was to update the bios, pictures e.t.c. to reflect the correct information.

One thing though, you’ll notice your new publication has no follower. All your followers stays on your old account which is now your profile — I think thats a good thing. If you have followers on Twitter for the previous account, go to the about section of your publication and connect that Twitter account and it would automatically add them up.

Now it feels better knowing I can post, share and comment on multiple articles, publications easily. I think Facebook has something similar that allows you to convert your profile to a page, it would be great to have this option on Medium as well.

_
Shina is a Product Designer at Charlesmudy.com, a web and mobile design studio based in Prague. I share my design process on Explanatic.com.

The future is bright!

--

--