GIE 2005

Shohibatulinayah
2 min readApr 11, 2024

--

Let’s talk about this film, Nicholas Saputra as Soe Hok Gie was an Indonesian activist of chinese descent who played a role bringing down the old order. Gie was born in Jakarta, December 17, 1942. Gie is the fourth of five siblings. Well this is my first medium blog, just sharing my opinion and experiences when I watched it. If you love reading, check out the book Soe Hok Gie’s Notes of a Demonstrator.

He played the character very well, he always thinking critical about everything that not seem right, he are also competitive person.

The songs in it also fit well with each scene, one of the songs I like is Donna Donna, which is a song with guitar accompaniment one night by Sita Nursanti played by Ira, it was the most emotional moment that gave me the goosebumps melancholy.

What made me feel so gut wrenching was the last scene when ira got a letter containing poetry from Gie, one of his quotes :

“Nasib terbaik adalah tidak pernah terlahirkan

Yang kedua adalah dilahirkan tapi mati muda

Yang tersial adalah berumur tua

Berbahagialah mereka yang mati muda

Makhluk kecil kembalilah dari tiada ke tiada

Berbahagialah dalam ketiadaanmu”

Soe Hok Gie akhirnya meninggal di puncak gunung Semeru pada bulan Desember 1969 di pangkuan sahabatnya.

And yes that’s all I can share, I should have published this archive months ago but I forgot haha, adios.

--

--