Angel Stadium of Anaheim — A personal mission to visit all MLB stadiums

USA West Coast 2023: (5) LA - Anaheim

Sho.N
8 min readSep 13, 2023

I personally have a dream to be come true while I’m alive; to visit all home stadiums of 30 teams in major league baseball! In May 2023, I scheduled to visit three stadiums in California in one week; Dodger Stadium, Angel Stadium of Anaheim, and Petco Park.
This story is about Angel Stadium of Anaheim.

  • The story about Dodger Stadium is here.
  • The story about Petco Park is here.

Many Japanese who came to watch Ohtani san

Needless to say, Los Angeles Angels has some top players; Mr. Mike Trout and Mr. Shohei Ohtani. Ohtani san may leave Angels after 2023 season because he’ll get a right of a free agent. It means it is reasonably possible 2023 is the last season we can watch Ohtani san playing as the player of Angeles in this stadium.

Angels Stadium is far from Los Angeles city, and honestly the location is not convenient. I need any reasons if I plan to come here. Ohtani san was the best reason for me, and soon I decided to come to this stadium in May 2023.

I visited a team store near the homeplate gate. The shop was not so big, but in even that the store was so crowded! This was completely different from Dodger stadium & Petco Park. Clearly many Japanese travelers could be found. Most of goods are for Mike Trout or Ohtani san, and I felt again they are top players in Los Angels Angels.

Here I bought a shirt only with Angels logo, without a number on player’s back. I wear it every night as a pajama.

Every time I come inside the stadium where we can see the field, I get so excited! I watch this stadium on TV many times, but it was unbelievable that I was standing the same place. I was sure it was right to visit here this year, before the game started.

Before the game some of Angels players gave their autographs on balls etc based on fans’ requests. The distance between players and fans are so close, which is different from Japan.

Explore and walk around inside the stadium

After watching the 2nd at-bat of Ohtani san, I explored the stadium; I made a round along the aisle on 1st floor. Usually I do this before a game starts, but this day I couldn’t because I spent time drinking beer in Carl Strauss right in front of the stadium as wrote below.

Whenever I see a big stone mountain in outfield seats on TV, I wonder how it is behind the stone. I was simply glad to see that with my eye directly. I totally feel Angel Stadium is like a big park in a countryside, which is different from Petco Park. There is a highway right behind the outfield seats, so it is not actually in a countryside, but I felt as above.

Local fans of Angeles looked warm and soft. I had some conversations with older married couples next to my seats, and they were calm and gentle.

Game: Angels 8 - 16 Rangers

I expected it would be difficult for Angels to win Rangers, which was the first place in American League West Division (at this time). Angels took the lead with 3-runs homer by Anthony Rendon, which was the 1st home run for him in 2023 season, but after that all Angels pitchers lost points one after another. Ohtani san got on base(s) at every at-bat and it led to Angels runs, but Rangers runs were too many to catch up.Finally Angels gave 16-runs to Rangers, which was the first time in the past 4 years for Angels in this stadium.

We have to say it would be difficult to go to the post-season without improving pitchers, even if the team has exceptional players such as Mike Trout and Ohtani san.

Many Japanese tourists were occupied in the area behind dug-out of 3rd base to a halfway, but many of them left the stadium before the game was over, perhaps because Ohtani san finished an at-bat in the bottom of 8th and he would not get another at-bat in the next inning. It may have the same as local Angels fans, and when Rangers got final 27th outs, not so many fans still remain.

Anyway, I enjoyed staying and watching in Angel stadium. I felt it was different both from Dodger Stadium & Petco Park. Each stadium has different features and it is a fun. It is one of the reasons and motivations I want to visit all MLB stadiums.

Tips: Carl Starauss Brewery

A branch in Anaheim

Though I didn’t know before I come here, Karl Strauss brewery has a branch right in front of Angel Stadium! I liked this brewery when I visited San Diego as I wrote in this story, and I was excited to find it by chance. I had enough time this day, so I enjoyed before the game and after the game again.

This brewery is not only in a good location, but also big. Even if visitors to the stadium stop by here, it doesn’t get so crowded and I could spend time relaxed.

Before the game, I had only a glass without any foods, because I would eat anything inside the stadium. After the game, I visited here again and tried beer flights; I could try some kinds of beers with fish & chips.

Many craft beer lovers introduce good beers & foods of Carl Strauss in SNS, and I checked and refer to them for deciding what to drink/eat. Of course, everything was excellent. I strongly recommend to enjoy grate craft beers here when you visit Angel Stadium and have time.

Tips : Hotel close to Angel Stadium

ALO Hotel by Ayres

Angel Stadium of Anaheim is far from Los Angels city, and thus where to stay is one important issue for tourists. In particular, if you watch night game, it is not safe to walk to your hotel for a long time/distance.
I watch a day game so it finished before 4pm, but even in the situation I paid attentions to choose a good location hotel.

I stayed at ALO Hotel by Ayres.
Hotels in Anaheim are totally expensive, perhaps because the city has two big sightseeing spots; Disneyland and Angel Stadium. The closer to the stadium, the price gets higher. On the other hand, if you choose the hotel far from the stadium, you must use Uber and it costs over 10 USD even if it takes only 10 minutes. That is, if you want to save money, you should any hotel which is not so close to the stadium but where you can walk to the stadium.

This hotel location satisfies the above. Additionally, it has Starbucks Coffee in the same place. I heard you can go to a big shopping mall on foot for 5 minutes, though I didn’t.

Highway from the hotel to Angel Stadium

Sorry I didn’t any take pictures in the hotel, so I cannot show you them here. Instead, I uploaded pictures on the way to the stadium. It takes about 15–20 minutes from the hotel to Angel Stadium.

You need to pass through under the highway as the above picture. I’m not sure whether it is safe in the night, but at least it was okay when I walked there; before noon & evening (around 5pm). After that you cross some intersections, while seeing flags of Angels along the load. I found the flag of Ohtani san. These continue to the stadium, so you just follow them.

It was good climate in California in May 2023 when I visited there as I heard in advance. Walking to the stadium make you relaxed with a comfortable exercise and excited steadily to look forward a good game.

Additional Information

If you’re interested in other photos, please kindly to see my Instagram account.

--

--