When you match with an investment banker

Confused Person!
2 min readNov 19, 2021

--

Movies show investment bankers as being ambitious and super driven. They are go-getters and don’t stop at anything less than the best. They are well spoken and well dressed. They work long hours and are basically the creme de la creme of the corporate workforce.

Reality is not far from this. They are driven, work long hours, round the clock. They earn well and are super ambitious and thrilled about their work.

What happens when you match with them for date? I am an outsider. First reaction would be to be impressed by them. I do get impressed by them. There is a lot of hard-work they put into it. However, when you start conversing, you automatically know it is probably not going to go anywhere.

Most of the conversation will revolve around their work. Probably time factor of interacting also poses a challenge. I remember one of the matches sort of tried to set me up with another friend. Reason was the person’s lack of availability. (My reaction was I watched with you, I don’t need a referral)

Another match acknowledged the work hours. Acknowledged everything, yet the conversation was mainly about the person.

Won’t deny I have had good conversations with them. They are smart and carry themselves off well. However, dating requires a certain level of time. It requires thinking outside of work. Probably an outsider might not understand their constraints as well as they should. I know I don’t understand. The kind of commitment and dating I want may not be agreeable with their work.

I always thought work will go on and one has to take out the time. But here I feel probably work does take over most of the time to leave the room and space for dating, romance, intimacy and commitment.

Not saying that I will not match or consider an investment banker. Will try not to have preconceived notions. Yet, this is just something to think about. Maybe the observations might not be true with the next one.

--

--

Confused Person!

Hi guys, I am a confused millennia. l am open to feedback and criticism. Please have a look at my posts. I try to write about topics that I am witnessing.