Typographical Error in your EAD Card?

Shreyas Mohan
2 min readAug 24, 2020

--

Each one of you who have applied for your Employment Authorization Document (EAD) would have waited for months to receive your card. Same was I, but I was disappointed to see an incorrect information on my EAD card. Lot of things ran on my mind. Did I enter my information right? How to correct the error? Will I be able to start on the given start date with the error on my EAD? Will my Employer accept this? Do I need to pay again for a replacement EAD?

You need not worry, if you have such error on your card. I will be answering all of those questions in this post and also providing the procedure to apply for a replacement card.

I verified with my application form, that the information I provided was correct. It was USCIS error. You need to request for a replacement EAD card and you need not pay any amount, if there is typographical error. Error includes incorrect information such as in gender,DOB,Name and Start Date. You will need to submit the following documents to USCIS:

The original EAD Card.

A letter containing detailed explanation of error.

A copy of supporting documentation on the correct information (such as copy of your passport or visa which has your correct information).

Replacement EAD Request Template

If the error was your mistake, submit a new I-765 application(all the forms and documents you initially submitted) with payment again and other documents as mentioned above.

Mail the documents to the center that processed your OPT application. The address would be present on your approval notice. Make sure you have the photocopy of the EAD Card with you, before you send it back. The photocopy will be useful for you in the future.

Though there is typographical error on your EAD card, your start date is same as specified on the card. It is upto the discretion of your employer to accept the EAD card with error. You can start your employment with that card, though in mean time you have applied for correction. It took approximately 3 months to receive my new card after I had sent it back.

I hope you find this post useful. Good Luck to you!

--

--