IMDB Redesign Case Study || Part 1

Shreya Garg
3 min readSep 3, 2024

--

Why I Chose IMDb for a Redesign

As an avid user of IMDb, I rely on this platform for movie ratings, discovering new shows, and checking parental guides for my parents — though it often leaves me feeling overwhelmed by the sheer amount of information available. Given my fondness for the site, I decided to undertake a redesign to enhance the user experience.

Wireframing

To start with I identified several areas that could be improved. Using Miro, I documented my findings, which I’ll be sharing throughout this case study series.

Miro Documentation

Redesign Focus Areas

For this series, I’ll be focusing on the following key components:

  • Top Navigation Bar ✔️
  • Dropdown Menu
  • Movie Cards
  • Profile
  • Watchlist

In this first part, we’ll dive into the changes made to the top navigation bar, exploring the rationale behind each decision.

Initial Observations

  • Initially, I noticed that the search bar occupied too much space, leaving less room for other essential elements that could be highlighted in the navigation bar.
  • Regarding the global search, there’s no need for users to manually select a category from a dropdown. In my redesign, I simplified this by removing the category selection, allowing for a more straightforward search experience.
  • While the IMDb logo correctly directs users to the homepage, the platform’s diverse audience, including less tech-savvy users, would benefit from a clearly labeled “Home” option in the menu for better navigation.
  • Next, I examined the menu section. The current layout as shown below appeared cluttered, with too much happening in one place.I realized that key categories like movies, TV shows, awards and events, and celebrities could be moved to the top navigation bar for easier access.
  • The rest of the elements were kept as they were, with minor adjustments to improve usability.

Final Design

After incorporating these changes, here’s the final design for the top navigation bar.

Thank you for reading! 😊

I’d love to hear your thoughts on this redesign!

Are there other areas you’d like to see improved? Drop your feedback in the comments below. ⏬⏬

--

--