Hit the road again!

Shreyas Chaudhari
3 min readJun 12, 2018

--

It was quite a while that I had not been on a cycle ride. Not that the thought of going for the ride did not cross my mind in the days. But somehow the motivation was clearly lacking.

In the week before, I had pinged couple of Cycling WhatsApp groups to know if anyone was ready for the Saturday ride. To my surprise I got only 1 reply. That was good enough for me to get started. Pinged couple of other folks personally on WhatsApp but in vain. So finally there were just 2 souls, me and Sushrut.

Finally came the morning of 9th June. Since it had been quite some time since when I had been for a ride, had to look for gears (helmet, gloves, bottle, bag) which were all over the place. Nothing new here though. Gathered the stuff and everything was set for the ride. Was unlocking my bike and realized that the rear tyre was punctured. Since it was as early as 6 am in the morning, getting a functional air pump was going to be a challenge. But that is where in Sushrut came to the rescue. Knowing the cyclist he is, he was already carrying an air pump attached to his bike. Pump the air in the rear tyre and we were all set.

As usual we did not have predefined route in our mind. But based on my ride to Kasarsai Dam 4 months back, I was sure that the route will be scenic for sure. And so we headed in the same direction. Our route was Pimple Saudgar > Jagtap Dairy > Mankar Chowk > Hinjewadi Bridge > Bhumkar Chowk > Dehu Road Police Station > Somatne Phata > Kasarsai Village > Kasarsai Dam > Hinjewadi > Bhumkar Chowk > Mankar Chowk > Jagpta Dairy > Pimple Saudagar.

Into the woods — Near Kasarsai

We started riding at good speed. In no time, we reached Bhumkar Chowk where we took our first break. That is when Sushrut started feeling the niggle in his right leg. He continued for another 5 kms till Ravet bridge. That is when he decided that he could not continue any more and started his return journey. From there it was a solo ride for me.

Green Pastures — Kasarsai

Keeping my self motivated, I continued cycling towards Dehu Road Police Station which is 3 odd kms of gradual killer slope. Yes, it is a killer slope. Trust me and you will be a rich man at the end of the day. I actually had an internal sense of achievement every time I climb that slope and reach the Dehu Road Police Station.

Canal — Somatne

Continued my journey towards Somatne Phata from Dehu Raod Police Station. This is one of the scariest part of the ride as it is Old Pune Mumbai Highway and there are heavy vehicles, trucks, buses, cars gushing by your side at fast speeds. Speeds in the excess of 80 kmph.

After taking the left turn from Somatne Phata towards Express Highway was where in the best part of the ride started. That's the part of the ride which brought out the photographer in me. I must say this is one of the best routes for country side bike rides. The route is surrounded by floral industry, farms, puddles, paddy fields, canals, green pastures what else and what not.

Center of the road

Completed a distance of 51 kms and reached home at around 11 am. Felt good as this was my solo ride and that too after a long break. Just felt like I was back in groove.

https://www.strava.com/activities/1626189204/shareable_images/photo_based/24917862/1/98b29add-1e0f-4065-abef-77b157e3258a?hl=en-US&v=1528520667

--

--

Shreyas Chaudhari

Software Engineer @ N26 | Twitter : shreyasc_tweets | Instagram : shreyasc_clicks