How to Save your pho Leftovers

Sasha S
3 min readOct 5, 2019

--

I love pho; Plain and simple. I love the texture of the noodles, the flavor of both the beef & the broth, and all the fresh garnishes you get to put in the soup. Every bite has a blast of flavor… My favorite thing about eating pho is the spoonfuls of the delectable broth and green onion. Can it get any better?

However, my stomach usually can’t even handle a medium size of the soup! My eyes have always been bigger than my stomach. Although, I always end up getting the medium and never finishing it. It breaks my heart because the broth is even better the next day, but the noodles get so soggy that I can’t even fathom that nasty texture. So moral of the story, my delicious pho always goes to waste. All because of those damn noodles.

So, I had a switch up. I told myself that the next time I went to eat pho, I would be able to save my leftovers. And indeed, I found a way.

I figured out that the issue with my leftovers were the noodles. So, I just didn’t pack them away. I took my broth, the beef, all of the green onion. I was left with the broth and a couple other valuables. I had to act smart. I went to my local asian market and bought my favorite rice noodles. At last, no more mushy, wet, rancid microwaved noodles in my bodacious soup.

What you’ll need to salvage the soup…

1 shallot

4 green onions

1 fresno chili

Granulated garlic

Black pepper

Cayenne pepper

Basil

Lime

Rice noodles.

First things first… Just pour your broth into a pot and bring to a boil. Make sure there are no limes in the broth when boiling. It’ll make your soup bitter and uneatable just like that.

After the soup is brought to a boil, add in a couple spices since most of them disappear while being heated up. Add just a tad of granulated garlic, black pepper, and cayenne pepper to taste. Throw in your rice noodles and let boil for about 5–6 minutes.

After your noodles and broth are done, take them off the heat and let sit on another part of the stove.

Grab a large bowl, and in there… add

1 full shallot (thinly julienned)

2–4 green onions (thinly chopped into rounds)

1 Fresno chili pepper (sliced into rounds)

After all is prepped and put into a bowl, pour the broth and the noodles over the aromatics. Mix them around with some chopsticks, and add fresh basil (cut up), and lime wedges into your soup.

The reason none of the veggies were boiled with the broth is because then they wouldn’t be the correct texture. When the broth is poured over them, they are cooked enough yet still crunchy enough.

Here’s the picture of my final and finished product. Enjoy!

Always True, Honest, and Raw,

Sasha

--

--

Sasha S

Searching soul amongst many just looking to share and find beautiful stories.