Char Dham Yatra: The way to Attain Moksha

Char Dham signifies “the four dwellings of the divine soul” namely Badrinath, Puri, Dwarka and Rameshwaram that are the four pilgrimage/religious places in India which are worshiped by Hindus. In Hindu religion, these places are highly revered by Hindus who wish to visit it in once in a lifetime. Char Dham defined by Adi Shankrachaya consists of the four Vaishnavite pilgrimage places.

The concept of visiting these holy places is to remove all sins from one’s life. Well, most people prefer to go on Char Dham Yatra in old age after fulfilling all their responsibilities. The central belief of the Hindus is to achieve “Moksha” that means to become free from rebirth on earth. They also recognise that to attain “Moksha” is the only way to meet God and also the way to reach heaven directly.

There are two types of holy yatra’s- one is stated above and the other is Chota Char Dham yatra. Chota Char Dham yatra start in the month of April/May on Akshaya Tritiya and ends during Diwali, while Puri, Dwarka and Rameshwaram can be visited throughout the year. In this Yatra, there are four Dhams namely Badrinath, Kedarnath, Gangotri and Yamnotri where people come to take the blessings of God. These places are located in the lap of the Himalayan valley. During the month of April and May, the snow around the temple areas starts melting. This melting snow is also a source of water, which nourishes the four holy rivers that are Yamuna, Ganga, Mandakini, and Alaknanda.

If you want to explore these places, it is better to buy a Char Dham Yatra Package in advance; if not, it can be difficult for you to find a great place to stay.You will find a huge crowd at this time as people come to Uttarakhand from all over India and from abroad. Therefore, buying a travel package is a wise decision for you before starting on your pilgrimage. There are numerous websites that provide these packages online at most affordable prices. You can browse them to find the best deals according to your budget.

Way to reach Chota Char Dhams

By road, you can reach Badrinath and Gangotri dhams via both Dehradun and Rishikesh. To reach Yamunotri, you will have to trek from JankiChatti village which is about 230km from Rishikesh. On the other hand, to reach Kedarnath, the trek starts from Gaurikund which is about 210km from Rishikesh. So, get ready to begin your journey, no matter wherever you are, just pack your bags and book a Char Dham Yatra package for making your trip unforgettable.

Let’s talk about these Dhams in brief

· Yamunotri Dham

The Yamunotri Dham is commonly the first leg of the yatra located at 3292 meters above the sea level in “Uttarkashi” district,Uttarakhand near the China border. This is a place of origin of the sacred river “Yamuna”.

· Gangotri Dham (3415m)

Gangotri is one of the major four dhams and the source of the river Ganga as it is the place where the River Ganga originates (Gaumukh). The Gangotri temple was built by the Gurkha General Amar singh Thapa on the banks of the river Bhagirathi.

· Kedarnath Dham (3553m)

It is considered as one of the holiest of all the Hindu temples dedicated to Lord Shiva who is often portrayed as the “God of Destruction.” The Kedar temple was built by Adi Shankaracharya who also simplified the Hindu Holy scriptures for the common man.

· Badrinath Dham (3300m)

The Badrinath Dham is located in the rocky town of Badrinath, Uttarakhand and is the last leg of the Char Dham yatra. It is the one of the temples from the main Char Dhams of India. The temple is known as the Badrinarayan temple and was built by Adi Shankaracharya who found the Badri Narayan statue in the Alaknanda River.

You can make your trip as a great spiritual journey, which is unforgettable as you also explore the beauty of nature. Make sure that you book the Char Dham Yatra package in advance to make your vacation hassle-free.