LittleBits Sticker Machine

Learning rapid prototyping with LittleBits

Jenny L
2 min readOct 30, 2019
↑ Final video demo

Since my ‘client’ is the children’s museum, I happened to see lots of sticker machines/arts and craft kits when I was creating my mood board. So here I made a machine that dispenses strips of stickers as one pushed a pressure sensor. Regarding the pick-up time, Users are cued both auditorily and visually (blue LED light and speaker). The pickup position will also be clear to them since the arrow turns as the pressure sensor detects user.

Overall here are my answers regarding the three key questions:

  • How do you do: pressing the pressure sensor, and when cued, pick up the sticker from the pointed location by pulling.
  • How do you feel: The sound of the whole machine operating made users anticipating/ slightly nervous. The warm human voice would be a relief moment thta give them joy.
  • How do you know: As mentioned, users are cued through multiple perceptions; and I assume most users read blue light on machines as ‘working properly’.
Diagram and photos from more angles

Some Process

← Adjusting the arrow angle and position → An early paper run-through experiment

--

--