Poem: Nineteen

Siarhei Kandybovich
2 min readOct 2, 2023

--

“I ran so fast but I couldn’t run from this feeling”

Recommendation: Listen to “This Town” by Niall Horan as you read this poem.

This song emphasizes how I feel about all of the words below… I hope you enjoy it and, honestly, I hope you can’t relate.

I barely remember who I used to be

The only thing I know is nineteen

It feels like one whole life was lived

I ran so fast that all of the trails went missing

I tripped and fell for your cruel embrace, several times

It hurts revisiting that scenario, oh it does

(And is it even okay If I wish to kiss you now? I must be crazy)

I really don’t intend to be melancholic at all

but the truth is: if you’d call to say “I love you”, I’d fall right into your arms

even if you’d lie; you perfectly know you don’t even need to try

You know that a part of me loves to be shot by your toxicity

But I know there’s another part that you’re not conscious about

A part in which I listen to what my head says, and it says:

“Go away, as far as possible, and, if possible, forever”

And I am a good boy, I obbey.

I barely remember who I used to be

The only thing I know is nineteen

But it feels like one whole life was lived… already

I ran so fast that all of the trails went missing

I ran so fast but I couldn’t run from this feeling

Firm and persistent, you don’t leave

(You never did…)

I wish we could’ve had a chance to dance

I wish we could’ve been just happy.

~ Siarhei Kandybovich

Did you like this poem? Get me a ko-fi.

Thank you for being here and follow me for more content like this! :)

--

--

Siarhei Kandybovich

Happy to spread awareness and address relevant topics present in nowadays society and life. And to share some personal writing and poetry, too.