I Write and Sell Horror Short Stories….Why?

Sidehustleswithmax
4 min readJun 17, 2024

Well firstly, its easy for me, I have a creative mind and I can create twisted and demented characters in my head.

Secondly, it is fun for me, I love watching horrors, I love watching twisted cult movies, thrillers, anything in that realm, so when I first heard about shudder, it was like….sign me up.

Writing short stories is easier then you think, all you need is an imagination, google docs, and understand the basics of writing a story. You need a beginning, a middle and an end……seems simple right, well it really is.

Of course you may need more depth, develop your characters, have your hero and antagonist, but depending what you are writing, you can be as creative as you want. Gone are the days of traditional publishing, you do not need to write a 300 page novel and send it to a publisher and wait for months and months for a response which still ends in rejection.

You can write your first book or story, and publish it for free on multiple platforms, either as a paperback or digital read.

I use Draft 2 Digital — it is an online platform where you can upload your books and they are published to multiple platforms including KDP, Apple, Kobo, Barnes and Noble plus so many more….so they do the hard work for you, all they take is a small cut. But price your books your way…

--

--

Sidehustleswithmax

It is simple, I love making money, I love side hustles, I want more in life and I want to share my knowledge and experience with others.