How I Deal with My Anxiety Techniques for Cultivating Peace

Sidra Anum
6 min readMar 9, 2024

--

How do I deal with my anxiety? Dealing with anxiety is sometimes overwhelming and challenging. Many factors help to cope with anxiety. Sometimes we lock ourselves in a shell and don’t want to open.

However, by implementing effective coping strategies and seeking support, it is possible to manage anxiety and lead a fulfilling life.

This is a very long process, that I took to heal myself. In this article, I will share my personal experience of how I deal with my anxiety, by offering tips, and techniques that helped me to control my negative thoughts and difficult times.

How I deal with My Anxiety Techniques

There are many techniques and methods that doctors suggest to you and help you to deal with anxiety. But there I add my experiences and methods that help to manage my fearfulness.

How I Deal with My Anxiety A Personal Journey

How I Deal with My Anxiety A Personal Journey

My journey with anxiety starts when I fail in a relationship.

My relationship fall led me to unease, worry, fear, and distrust. At a very young age when someone broke my personality and left me in the dark.

Then I start to recognize the impact of anxiety on my life, including relationships, work, and overall well-being.

Understanding the root causes of my anxiety was the first step in learning how to cure my anxiety effectively.

The First Step Towards Healing Professional Help

professional help

The first step that I took to deal with my anxiety was seeking professional help. It is very difficult to trust someone and asking help in the case of anxiety.

This first step is very difficult for me because I don’t want to share my fear and uneasiness with someone.

However, therapists provide me with a safe space to find my thoughts and feelings, identify triggers, and develop coping mechanisms.

Working with a therapist equipped me with valuable tools and strategies to manage my anxiety more effectively.

Self-care

Self-care plays a crucial role in managing anxiety. I learned to participate in activities that nourished my mental and emotional well-being. Participate in mindfulness activities, engaging in hobbies, and spending time in nature is very helpful.

Taking breaks from work, family, and friends when needed. Then I started setting boundaries in relationships and practicing self-compassion became an integral part of my self-care routine.

Mindfulness and Meditation

Mindfulness and Meditation

Mindfulness and meditation have been very powerful tools that help to deal with my anxiety. With the help of mindfulness, I start to observe my thoughts and emotions. I try to understand the reason behind my fear and uneasiness. It is best practice when you give time to yourself and start finding the reason for your thoughts. This will help to deal with the negative thoughts easily.

There are various madison that help to control your negative thoughts. Meditation helped me cultivate a sense of calm and inner peace, even during anxiety-inducing situations.

Physical Exercise

Regular physical exercise has been instrumental in managing my anxiety. Going for a walk and breathing in fresh air help to deal with fear. Exercise not only helps reduce stress and tension in the body but also releases endorphins, which are natural mood boosters.

Whether it’s going for a walk, practicing yoga, or engaging in high-intensity workouts, incorporating physical activity into my routine has been beneficial for my overall well-being.

Healthy Lifestyle Choices

A healthy lifestyle is very important to deal with anxiety. Eating healthy food gives you the energy to deal with harmful thoughts. Getting enough sleep helps to make your mind and soul calm.

Take a balanced diet, and avoiding excessive caffeine and alcohol consumption is very helpful.

Taking care of my physical health has a positive impact on my mental health, helping me feel more resilient and better equipped to cope with stressors.

Connecting with Others

Sometimes it becomes hard and painful to build relationships, but it is very essential to build healthy relations with others. Because strong relations at that time worked as a remedy to deal with the difficult faces of life.

Building a support network of friends, family, and loved ones has been invaluable in managing my anxiety.

Having a strong support system allows me to reach out for help when needed, share my experiences openly, and receive encouragement and reassurance. Knowing that I’m not alone in my struggles brings a sense of comfort and belonging.

Protecting My Mental Health

Setting boundaries has been essential in preserving my mental health and well-being. Learning to say no to obligations that cause unnecessary stress. Avoiding such places and people that cause anxiety is best for giving value to yourself.

Establishing clear boundaries in relationships and work settings has helped me maintain a healthy balance and reduce anxiety triggers. Your desire and satisfaction are more important than other things. Making your mind and body relax is the priority for yourself.

Challenging Negative Thoughts

Anxiety and concern are typically exacerbated by negative thought processes. I’ve discovered how to combat these pessimistic ideas by challenging their veracity and rewording them to reflect more nuanced viewpoints.

I have found that cognitive-behavioral methods like thought challenging and cognitive restructuring have been quite beneficial in altering my perspective and lowering my anxiety.

How I deal with Anxiety By Embracing Acceptance

Finally, I’ve learned to embrace acceptance as a key component. How I deal with my anxiety. Acceptance doesn’t mean resignation or giving up; rather, it involves acknowledging and making peace with the reality of my experiences.

By accepting my thoughts and feelings without resistance, I’ve found greater inner peace and resilience in the face of uncertainty. I know it is very difficult to accept but leave everything to Allah. Sometimes we feel comfortable accepting things when they don’t go our way.

Tips on How I Deal With My Anxiety

Some tips help me to calm myself. I know it is very easy to suggest, but sometimes it is very helpful for others. I hope that it will be helpful for those who want to deal with anxiety.

  • Share your feelings with your family and the most loved person whom you trust.
  • Start writing dairy or anything that helps to express your thoughts and emotions.
  • Do some travels, and visit places that are close to nature.
  • Spent time close to nature, give some time to yourself think about the reason
  • Do exercise, eat healthy food
  • Take some rest from all activities and work.
  • Start accepting the situation and people’s behaviors
  • Do practice of behavior and cognitive therapies.

conclusion,

A continual path requiring patience, self-awareness, and self-compassion is dealing with anxiety. It is possible to effectively manage anxiety and maintain a fulfilling life by comprehending the underlying reasons for anxiety, getting professional assistance, emphasizing self-care, and developing a support system. Remind yourself that you are not alone in your challenges and that progress and healing are possible.

--

--

Sidra Anum

I'm Sidra Arshad, a passionate content writer dedicated to crafting engaging and informative articles that captivate readers' attention.