The Tale of New Year’s Eve

Sifon Umoh
6 min readJan 4, 2024

--

There’s a lot to tell; The new year was rolling in so quickly, and as usual, it came with a renewed adrenaline rush.

You know, your pen moves faster, your heart beats faster, your legs move lighter, your eyes shine brighter, and your smile grows wider.

I felt most of it, but I’m not a fan of the New Year’s saga — the excess excitement and all.

I still maintain that I prefer my New Year’s day quiet — no excessive celebrations. I picture myself with a friend or my spouse (when I have one). No visitors whatsoever.

This New Year’s Day was just that. I decided not to go to see my family. Sometimes we need our own space, and I’m glad they understood.

I thought I’d be alone for the new year because I had no friends living close by, so I couldn’t invite anyone over. But the week brought me a surprise.

Well, I don’t know where to start my story from — New Year’s eve or New Year’s Eve?!!

I’m moving too fast though. Let’s pause … phew!!!

Okay … So … I will start with New Year’s ‘Eve’.

It was about a week to the new year, specifically boxing day when I met her. I woke up with no intention to step out. I spent most of the day writing and watching a series.

The Korean drama I was seeing was too lovey-dovey. While I keep saying I hate love, the truth is I’m a sucker for love, so I loved it besides how mushy it was.

I was writing my plans for the new year. I would get demotivated after the new year’s adrenaline rush expires, so I’m not into writing resolutions.

So, mostly, I was writing my goals for the year and my plans towards it in January because one step at a time is the best way to get to your destination most times.

When I was done, I realised how empty and quiet the room felt. On a good day, I would have loved it, but that day, I felt like I needed company. Maybe cos it’s the festivity period.

There was just me and my cat, Mini. She wasn’t troubling me, and I could have made do with a bit of her disturbance, but I didn’t know how to ask her to.

Instead, I put on my shirt and stepped out. I wasn’t going anywhere. I was just strolling wherever my legs took me under the semi-hot sun.

I walked forward, then, left, right, almost zigzagging, exploring the area.

I was probably in the tenth or twelfth street when I spotted a familiar figure. She looked really familiar, but it took me minutes to place the face. It was Wuraola, my best friend’s best friend.

The thing is, when I was in my first year in university, I had a best friend, Damilola. I had met her during clearance.

We had gone to the same cyber cafe to print our documents and switched some documents mistakenly. Luckily, I checked through mine and noticed it. She was three shops away at that time, and I called out to her. She turned back, and I ran to her.

Dami was a social bird, so she joyfully pointed out how this would have been a perfect love story intro. You know those picture-perfect meet-cute in rom-coms.

I laughed shyly. She told me her name and asked for mine. I told her my name and department, and it turned out that we were in the same faculty. So typically, we were going to see again.

It didn’t take long. We met again a week later, and she took my number this time. Our friendship took flight really quickly and ended quickly too. Guess who tore us apart? Wura!!! (more like, took my place. But I like blowing this out of proportion because I was deeply pained).

I was quite asocial, but Dami was the opposite. So every time, she had to drag me to attend occasions. And eighty per cent of the time, I said no.

So, when Wuraola, another socialite, came into her life, it was easy for them to vibe. I soon became a backdrop, and our relationship died significantly.

Dami kept giving excuses for not replying to my chats and missing my calls, and at a point, I got fed up and let her fade away from my life.

I bumped into both of them quite often. At first, I avoided them. But once I was over the hurt, I didn’t mind.

Back to the present

Talking to Wura wasn’t something I wanted to do because I knew it would be awkward.

However, we were walking in opposite directions on the same lane, so she was definitely going to see me. My only luck would be that she won’t recognise me.

As soon as I smiled at this thought, she waved at me.

I froze. SHIT!!!

Uh uh! I couldn’t escape this. I felt like running off, but that will be disastrous. I would end up being the subject of discussion in her social group throughout the month.

She would go like, “I met this weird girl I knew in the Uni and guess what she did? She ran off! Isn’t that crazy?” …or something similar. The worst thing to happen is if she is still friends with Dami.

I’d fall sick for a week just ruminating on the many possible gossips surrounding my stupid action.

So the safest thing to do was to see it through. What is the worst that could happen? An awkward five-minute convo with me nodding and maybe a follow-up exchange of phone numbers when we knew we would never call each other. Then a brief hug?

My steps became disorganised, and I was a little wobbly. Getting to where Wura was felt like a million years, even if it was less than a minute. When I was a few steps away, Wura shouted excitedly,

“Dami’s friend! It is so good to see you. Wow! It’s been ages, for real. What a surprise.”

That is when I knew she had forgotten my name. Oops! But understandable. And I tell no lies when I say she barely observed any punctuation in her first sentence. Luckily, she ended her great opening speech and let me respond.

“The name is Uyai. It’s nice seeing you, Wuraola.”

Wura’s eyes widened a bit before she commenced talking. As expected, she did most of the asking, and I replied. She asked how school was for me.

She asked about my family, my job, if I was married, where I stayed, and the like. I found out that she stayed in an estate close to my street with her daughter, Ella, who she had in her final year.

We spoke for close to ten minutes and then exchanged contacts and hugged. She promised to stop by soon. And she did.

To be continued …

Happy New Year fam,

Narrator.

--

--

Sifon Umoh

I'm a content writer, but above all, I'm a literature lover, and writing is a way of life for me. A way to connect with myself, nature, God, and the world.