At Ease (Life in a Human Shell #2)

Sigrid Ilisa Krüger
2 min readJul 31, 2023

--

Photo by NASA on Unsplash

Part 2 of Life in a Human Shell: At Ease.

“Hey, Jane.”

Jane looks up. Her blue-eyed gaze meets another pair of oddly similar-colored windows to the soul, which belong to John, her brother.

John asks, “Do you know why I love anything space-related so much?”

She shakes her head lightly. “No. Why?”

“Because it humbles me and comforts me at the same time.”

“Really? How?”

For a moment, he just sits there, staring blankly into the wall for a split second, as if he’s thinking about something so deeply. Then he answers his sister’s query.

“It just.. humbles me to know that there are things beyond my simple human comprehension, and it comforts me to realize that my problems, no matter how big they seem at the moment, are just a tiny, microscopic part of a bigger and more complex existence. It is somehow reassuring to think about it that way. It makes me feel at ease.”

Life in a Human Shell is a series; it is a new chapter in my writing journey, in which I will be expressing the complexity of human emotions from my own perspective. There will be several parts to this series, enjoy!

Read Part 1 of Life in a Human Shell: Hurt here:

--

--

Sigrid Ilisa Krüger

I am a lover of words, a fan of rhymes, an unnecessarily melancholic person. I simply love writing about the things that I see, hear, and feel.