I’m joining Backchannel

Signe Brewster
1 min readApr 8, 2015

--

Some news: I will join Medium at the end of the month as Backchannel’s first staff writer. I plan to cover the same science and emerging hardware I cared so deeply for at Gigaom, plus take regular dives into the greater technology industry.

The job calls for spending up to a week or more on every story. If I have learned anything from covering robots, drones and virtual reality on a daily basis, it’s that they deserve deep, thoughtful reporting. Time is a rare resource for a journalist these days, and I will cherish having it.

I am also excited to learn longform storytelling from Backchannel editors Steven Levy and Sandra Upson, and to help them establish Backchannel as something new and compelling in the tech media landscape. I will also get to work with the greater Medium team to rethink online publishing itself.

Tomorrow marks 1 month since the closure of Gigaom. The heartbreak and confusion of that day have gradually given way to possibility. I am amazed by the places my former colleagues will head next, and can’t wait to see what they accomplish. I know I will apply the things they taught me everyday at Medium. Onward!

--

--