Raindrops In The Sunshine

Why I am always looking at the bright side

Simone Gobbo
3 min readJul 29, 2018

I am sitting on my sofa, wrapped in a blanket with my laptop on my legs.

Everything looks grey today. The light is hazy, and the raindrops on our roof lulled us all night long. It’s still wet and horrible out there, but between these four walls, there’s nothing that can cloud my heart.

I feel tired, but I feel in great shape. More than that, I choose to feel great.

This is my choice today, and nothing will make me change my mind.

Normal people will feel gutted on a Sunday like this.

It’s been scorching hot for the past two months, it’s finally the Summer holidays, and it rains. The plans you had for the day are out of the window, and there’s not much you can do with weather like this.

The streets are looking like mountain rivers, and the town seems still sleepy, recovering from the weekend hangover.

All the bbq, the days out and the beach trips are cancelled. Just walking to one of the cafes on High Street seems an unnecessary adventure. An effort that would just make you soaking wet, for pretty insignificant reward.

But I am still happy. I am still choosing to be happy today.

What other choice do I have? Feel miserable because I am confined to this room, dry, comfy and surrounded by all my stuff?

I am a firm believer in the amor fati. The idea is that it’s up to us to look at the positives in every situation, every second of our life. No matter how hard and awful that moment is, there’s definitely something you can learn from it, a positive side you have to see.

Is it raining outside?

Brilliant. I’ll get cosy, write a bit, catch up with some books I have wanted to read for too long. Outside the rain is still drumming on our windows and I don’t care. It’s the perfect soundtrack for a relaxing day in.

Luana is at work, and I can have some me time. Think. Sort through my mind and get back in line. Ready for next week. Ready for the upcoming months.

I am not letting this weather drag me down. I am not letting life’s stresses, and pressures crush my spirit. I am stronger than anything that’s on my way. You are stronger than any challenge you will have to face.

This is a fact. It starts, and it ends with you. A bit of a cliche, but a huge truth nonetheless.

Life is an adventure. Life is rich. Life is beautiful.

Even on a grey, wet, mid-summer Sunday morning.

A link to my previous post. 👇👇

Thank you for your attention. If you liked what I had to say, hit the clap button or drop me a response or please keep in touch following me. 🙏

I’d love to connect with you. Hit me up on Instagram, Twitter or drop me an email at simone@shapeandletter.co.uk! 🙌

--

--