An unfiltered review of “Misfits.bet”

Simran Bharti
3 min readJun 23, 2024

--

Misfits are people who do not usually fit in any generic situation because of their different opinions. They have a unique way of thinking and are usually second-order thinkers. They do not easily resonate with the people around them and therefore are considered to be misfits in society. I have been one such misfit for as long as I can remember. I am an introvert and shy and prefer a small circle. I could hardly find people with whom my ideologies and aspirations resonated. A year ago I joined a community called “Misfits.bet” where a bunch of misfits met another misfit(Naman Shrivastava) and it started a wave of good governance.

I was flirting with the idea of becoming an IFS officer so about a year ago I gathered some courage and decided to prepare for the UPSC exam. After doing some research and watching some videos on YouTube on how to become an IFS officer I landed in the misfits community. After being a proud member of this community for some time I realized that the goal of misfits was not just to merely clear a government exam but to become a conscious citizen of society who would lead a life of ethics and high moral values. Naman sir made sure that with every misfits episode, we learn the value of the topic that we will study and how it will make us a better civil servant. He wanted to put good people in important positions because that is the only way to ensure that this country is governed with utmost sincerity and honesty.

“Mentoring is a brain to pick, an ear to listen, and a push in the right direction.” -John C. Crosby.

When I joined misfits I did not find a teacher I found a mentor. Naman Sir is a mentor who has made many efforts to make sure that the students learn to pick their brains. His teaching style is unique and shows his effort and dedication in every episode that he has made. His lectures contain several dimensions and he has taught us to become second and third-order thinkers. Most of the topics start with a video which helps us understand the relevance of the topic to real-world problems. He has emphasized the value of studying every subject in conjunction with each other and not in silos. His approach of making conjectures and connecting the dots is what makes these episodes the best. The 7th episode of Polity where he showed the video of Dr. B.R. Ambedkar is my favourite one.

Besides completing the syllabus on time, he has ensured that the misfitters are in good mental health. He hosts networking events that help us communicate with each other. He has listened to our problems and extended his support. He took multiple classes in the weeks before UPSC prelims 2024 and in every class, he would tell us the small details that would help in the exam hall. He was there with the folks even one day before the UPSC prelims 2024 and was there even after the exam. One of the things I find fascinating is “The Dravid Zone”. The Dravid Zone is a concept of sheer focus, discipline, and consistency that he introduced closer to the exam cycle.

In this one year of experience as a misfits member, I have grown on multiple levels. From a student, a fresher who recently started working as an IT professional to someone who can analyze various aspects of geography, economy, and polity. I am glad that I joined this community where I met so many misfitters who challenged me and inspired me. It is a community where we learn and collaborate. I am grateful to be a part of such an invaluable community.

--

--