Bob

Simon Walters
3 min readJul 15, 2019

--

I wrote these words late on Saturday evening.

Eight years ago this August I went to New Wine, a week-long Christian festival in Somerset, and had my life changed by God. I met Him in profound ways, was overwhelmed by His love for me, committed myself to follow Him as best as I could, and came away with the beginnings of a call to serve Him in His Church. I initially shared this with my parents; the next person I told was the youth pastor of my church, Bob Morris. Bob heard my faltering words, attempting to express what I thought God was saying, and he affirmed the seed that was being planted and endeavoured to provide room for this seed to grow. Without his words and actions of encouragement it is unlikely that I would now be training for ordained ministry; it’s possible that without Bob’s mentorship that that early desire to live on an ongoing basis as a follower of Jesus may have fallen by the wayside. Bob Morris has been the person who has had the greatest positive influence on my faith, and who has had a significant role in shaping me into who I am today.

It was with great pain, therefore, that I heard that Bob passed away this morning.

Staff Christmas party, 2013

This pain is multifaceted. I think of his family, no doubt left reeling at the loss of this man that loved them so dearly. I think of the missed opportunities in the past: did I tell him enough how important he was to me? Why didn’t I pick up the phone to ring him, just one more time? I think of the things to come that I won’t be able to share with him: I was so looking forward to introducing my girlfriend to him; he won’t be there for my ordination (he probably would’ve had a chuckle at me ‘parading around in a dress’). I think of the loss of his cool, calm demeanour, with a smile, a joke, and the promise of prayer.

In the days to come there will be much more, I’m sure. His absence will leave a hole for many of us in many ways.

Bob showed me what it was to follow Jesus with all your heart. He didn’t just talk about it: he lived and shared and breathed a life committed to the ways of Jesus. Bob was consistent in much that he did: up in the early hours of the morning to read the Bible, walk, and pray. In a time of fast-moving currents, Bob offered a safe haven of consistent presence, spending fifteen years at Cirencester Baptist Church to walk alongside many young people, in the church and out of it. In spite of the significance of the youth ministry at the church, it was never about him; after Bob’s initial bout of illness, he proudly told me that he’d done his job because he’d made himself entirely replaceable in his absence, because absolutely nothing had changed.

In this I think he was mistaken — Bob is not replaceable. But in his absence I keenly feel the challenge laid before me: will I be one, like Bob, who can faithfully and truthfully lead others to “follow me as I follow Christ”? Will I love God and neighbour consistently, over many years, through good times and bad, blessing and challenge? Will I see reliance on God as the key motivator for all that I am able to do?

The words of an email sent round today say this well:

We thank God for Bob, his passion for youth and children, and to grow and develop leaders who would do the same. He’s sown many seeds (far and wide) and prayed so many prayers. May these not be snuffed out as we grieve. But may they be watered and produce a huge harvest for God’s glory.

Bob truly was a faithful servant of his Saviour. May he rest in peace and rise in glory.

New Wine, Summer 2013

--

--

Simon Walters

Currently: ordinand based in Durham. Formerly: physics student in Bath, general layabout in Gloucestershire. Books, games, sandwiches, politics, Jesus.