I’ve found that the essence of high energy is to think less

Simon
2 min readJun 11, 2024

--

I often question the necessity of doing something before I do it, and when faced with dishes, laundry.

For a little tricky task, the thought of procrastination always pops into my head, “Wait, do it later, don’t do it, it’s too much of a pain in the ass, better to do it when I’m in a good state.”

Or consider the feasibility of the method. For example, is it really possible to make money writing articles in medium?

As soon as you feel tired or experience a little difficulty, patience goes out the window.

Frequent energy fluctuations and feeling overwhelmed when faced with complex or fatiguing tasks are deeply troubling to me.

Think less and just do it

Recently, I have discovered an effective way to boost my energy, which is to do things without preconceived emotions, without any judgment, and just focus on the present moment. I’ve discovered that the secret to high energy is to keep your thoughts quiet.

I’ve started trying to put my brain into a state of “pause”, not pre-conditioning anything, just telling myself that it’s a normal thing to do and just do it. I found that this allowed me to get things done happily.

Often, it’s not so much that we lack the ability to take action, but rather that we are bound by our own preconceptions of what is going on.

Once a task is labeled negatively, the motivation to move forward is lost. This habit of negative thinking spills over into all aspects of life and affects self-evaluation.

How to think less

In the book The Power of Now, I read a similar idea. Most thoughts are ineffective and harmful; they drain our life force. To get out of this rut.

The first thing is to stop identifying with all this negative thinking.
Your brain isn’t necessarily right, and negative thinking will only get in the way.

Second, focus on the present moment and create a gap in your thinking.
I’ve learned the hard way that human energy is a “use it or lose it” kind of thing. The more you do nothing, the less energy you have. Instead, by focusing on the present moment and just taking action, you can increase your sense of control over your life.

Finally, notice that thinking can be trained. As I got used to no longer pre-judging, I could feel a gradual increase in energy, and even when I encountered something I didn’t want to do, I was able to quickly adjust my mindset and take immediate action. It’s no exaggeration to say that I can now accomplish more than double the amount of tasks I used to.

So don’t overthink it, take action and you’ve already taken 99% of the steps to success.

--

--