How easily can someone pick your lock? What about your house door?

Simone Guarrai
3 min readJun 18, 2020

The art of lock picking.

Photo by Rob King on Unsplash

Before starting I would like to express how much I do hate the concept behind locks. The need of securing something that is already your.

I was living in the beautiful state of California, attending the forth year of high school. During this year my bicycle was stolen two times and I had to buy a new one each time, I was so angry. One day I was telling my misfortunes to a friend and he showed me the existence of different ways to open locks. From the most popular one: The lock picking itself, using paperclips or actual lock tools, to the use of shimmers, hammers and wrenches.

Lured by this Idea, I decided to learn the skill. With just a couple of bucks I brought the tools on wish and so it began. Of course I never open locks without the consent from the owners, I instead brought some locks on the market such as Master locks in order to make practice.

You can Imagine my astonishment when after just a couple of days I was able to open all locks in less than thirty second each, some in less than just 5 seconds! They didn't even have to work hard to pinch my bikes.

Is it possible to open a door?

--

--

Simone Guarrai

I’m a student in the aviation world.✈ Fanatic of extreme sports.🌊