proudly (c) by my daughter

How my daughter inspired me to make a video game

Simon Kemper
2 min readDec 30, 2015

--

At the age of four years my daughter already has some incredible drawing skills. One day she totally fell in love with fairy tales, especially with the story of Rapunzel.

She was drawing the same scene over and over again resulting in having hundreds of self drawn pictures of Rapunzel which is being kept in a tower and waits for a prince to come and rescue her.

One day she came to me and asked for a blank sheet of paper. I knew that she wanted to draw that same scene once more so I glued together two large sheets so that she had twice as much space.

After she had finished drawing she came up to me and showed me the result.

She then told me that in this drawing Rapunzel would be her and the prince at the bottom who only came along to rescue her would be me.

Really I don’t know why but that was a very special moment for me.

I suddenly remembered that I promised her months before, that I will make a video game with her one day. Well then I knew that this day has come.

Happily Ever After

Now, some time has passed since I originally had the idea of turning these drawings into a video game and I was already able to make quite some progress and joined with a collaboration partner. But, see yourselves:

(c) Simon Kemper & Milos Kostic — Drawing by Milos Kostic

With this I want to say thank you to my daughter for inspiring me to make one of the things I mostly enjoy in life.

Thank You,

Dad.

--

--