Simon Willison
1 min readSep 29, 2015

--

We’re back up again now. We’ve been having some reliability issues recently, but I think we’ve identified the primary cause (a misbehaving feature which is overloading our redis install).

Annoyingly, much of the development time I’m spending on Lanyrd at the moment is dedicated to fighting spam. It took a while, but spammers have finally figured out that we’re worth exploiting.

You mentioned off-line support: have you tried our mobile apps? They cache the schedule and other information off-line (available for iOS, Android and iPhone).

It’s true that the members of the Lanyrd team are spending the majority of their time on Eventbrite projects at the moment. I’ll be honest: given the option of spending time working on Lanyrd or Eventbrite, I personally prioritise Eventbrite work: it’s a product used by hundreds of millions of people, so the impact I can have working on it is much bigger.

--

--