LaTara Henry
3 min readDec 3, 2021

Part I: “We are not extinct:” Indigenous Arawak Jamaicans of Taino & Paratee descent & our “Blood Memories” (Dreams & Visions)

*See my YouTube video of this post: https://youtu.be/tYKa1qDCZ1Y

Along my spiritual journey, I have experienced lots of prophetic messages, visions, encounters, and healing knowledge for myself and for others. I have also experienced awakenings and ancestral initiations through what we call the "dream world."

When I was initiated through the dream world, I met many of my ancestors whom I’ve never met physically in this lifetime. What showed up for me consistently in my dreams was my Indigenous ancestors and in all colors and complexions (ref: "Yams for Hair Growth" and "Drumming" links below as examples of their presence). My experience is known as blood memories.

What are blood memories?

By definition, blood memories are described as ancestral connection to language, songs, spirituality, and teachings passed down genetically to the next generations. I have also received healing, dietary, and lifestyle remedies from these memories (ref: "Water Mint" link below for an example).

First peoples of Jamaica extinct?

When the Jamaica Gleaner article called “I am not extinct - Jamaican Taino proudly declares ancestry” was published, I remember I froze and stared at Olive Moxam’s picture (woman in top picture to the left). For me, Olive’s last name and facial features were close enough to my late great grandfather (man in top picture to the right). Even more unique was Olive’s place of birth, which is a neighboring city of my late great grandfather’s place of birth, but also where his family came from. This area in St. Elizabeth Jamaica is unique and known for its documented Indigenous settlements, Indigenous artifacts and countless accounts of people “blood memories.”

For me, this discovery solved a huge mystery along my spiritual journey. It was a mystery because as a child, I remember my late grandmother would hang corn in our house (image above). I still do this but I didn’t understand it as a youth because accessible knowledge and our history books claimed the Indigenous first peoples of Jamaica were "extinct." Now as an adult, I understand the cultural significance (ancestral acknowledgment).

Fast forward to 2021 and through genealogy records completed this year, I learned that Olive is indeed family.

This is groundbreaking and an exciting moment in history to correct the narrative of extinct Indigenous first peoples of Jamaica, for their ancestral blood is still alive and present within their descendants, and have been “awakened” through their blood memories.

One Love ✨

Original post on Instagram:

https://www.instagram.com/p/CWLpql6LDG5/?utm_medium=copy_link

Olive Moxam-Dennis Article ‘I am not extinct' - Jamaican Taino proudly declares ancestry || Photo Image credit of Olive Moxam (Jamaica Gleaner):

https://jamaica-gleaner.com/gleaner/20140705/lead/lead5.html

Drumming Post:

https://www.instagram.com/p/CLnqNANnXqV/?utm_medium=copy_link

Yam for Hair Growth Dream:

https://youtu.be/jvMpGCji6HA

Watermint Dream:

https://youtu.be/RHF4cv07_4Q