Translation scam on freelance sites like Upwork

418 Teapot
1 min readSep 18, 2022

--

I’ve been browsing Upwork lately and I saw this attractive translation job. Even though I am not a translator it seemed like an easy enough job since my main language was listed there. I decided to apply for the job.

Soon after I received a notification that I got accepted for the job. The offer was deleted but I did get a Telegram link. Through the Telegram link I got in contact with someone. He told me that I would have to translate 40 pages and I would get $1500,- for it because it’s a time consuming job.

It felt fishy because they didn’t even ask in which language I am going to translate it to. After researching it I quickly found a link which said there is a scam going on which described the exact same situation I am in.

I want to attend every freelancer through here that they should be aware of this scam! Do not fall for it it will only consume your time. Whereafter they will ask for your ID and a payment for ID verification. There is no such thing.

--

--