Shock, Denial, Anger, and Acceptance of Going Gray at 25

Sincerely, Olivia
4 min readJul 12, 2023
Image by @iwat1929 on freepik.com

Introduction

There is no logical explanation for how a typical mirror, hanging in a small and cozy bathroom, doing its job well, might turn into someone’s worst adversary.

Indeed, I had the same thought. Until one so-called wonderful day, I changed my mind.

No, not after staring at my tired and unsatisfied old self in the mirror for the thousandth time. But when I casually spotted some gray hairs growing from my scalp.

Don't misunderstand me: I had no illusions that I would somehow reverse the effects of aging like Benjamin Button.

But I wasn’t expecting to see so many gray hairs on my temple. Especially because I still get occasional breakouts of teenage acne. And I am only 25.

In other words, I still seemed to be reeling from the shame of my teenage years, when I had to face senile humiliation. And it was too much of a blow for me to bear. So I blamed the mirror.

Part I: Denial

That morning, I was about to dry my recently washed hair. So I armed myself with a brush, a hair dryer, a special oil, and faith in my hairstyling abilities and went to the bathroom.

--

--