Sindhu Shekar
2 min readNov 20, 2018

A small friend circle? Yes, please.

Let me take you back to the time when I was highly social. Always felt like engaging in conversations with people. Always felt like it was the only thing that could probably get me excited. I ended up telling them so much about myself, that wasn’t even necessary.

This was few years ago. Maybe I changed. Or maybe I evolved into a person that I’m now. I learnt a lot of things in this process which made me a much better version of myself, and for that I’m thankful.

So why don’t I like a big group of friends?

Or maybe let’s put it this way,

Why is having a small circle of friends that we will end up spending our lives with, even better?

When we start conversing with hundreds of people, we end up giving them a part of ourself. A part that you might not get back. It’s not always a bad thing. But in the course of life, not everyone deserves to know what’s been happening in your life.

Not everybody needs to know what’s interesting or you might as well call it -spicy!

Now this is because many people don’t really care. They listen, then speak about it behind your backs- which is again not respectful at all and forget about it. Some just really want to make themselves feel better by listening to your depressing stories. It makes them feel amazing and boosts their self esteem.

So at the end of the day, who can be trust worthy? Who can be that impeccable person who’s worthy of your stories?

In simple words, the one who’s always been there for you. The one who’s always a call away during crisis. The one who can do anything to put a smile on your face. The one whom you can count on, no matter what. The one who scolds you when you are wrong. The one who pats your back when you win. The one who supports your every life decision. The one who doesn’t judge you and doesn’t make your confidence cripple down at anytime.

When you are lost in a crowd, this person will hold your hand and take you away to a place you call it “home”.

Does this remind you of that special friend in your life? If yes, be thankful and feel lucky because there are very few people who get to enjoy this pleasure.

And if no, don’t worry. You will also end up finding someone who is meant for you. But that doesn’t mean , you should sit back and wait for that moment. Make yourself a self sufficient person. Read stories, observe people and make yourself a priority.

Because at the end of the day, if you don’t love yourself, who else will? ❤