Best Actively Passive Investment

Singaporean Landlord
2 min readFeb 20, 2023

--

After 6 months of passive investments, I achieved my expected rate of return of about 10% per annum.

It has been about 6 months since I wrote this article about my autopilot mode of investment (for true passive income) so I thought it’s about time I wrote an update on my investment portfolio. Over 6 months, the S&P 500 changed -0.48% while my portfolio changed +4.74% so this experience showed me that buying the S&P500 would have cost me a dinner while my portfolio gave me a return that is equal to 10 dinners.

Why is my portfolio outperforming the market?

  1. Evidence-based investing: The companies invested in have a higher probability of growing faster.
  2. Low fees: Reduced transaction fees means lower cost to me.
  3. Interest: Any interest income collected from the portfolio is paid to me.

What’s the next step?

As I illustrate to my clients who join me in my investment journey, my plan will be to continually invest over the years ahead, based on the data presented to me over time. I invite you to join me if you ever want to consider investing over the long term.

Relevant Links

The Best Investment Yet To Be: https://medium.com/@singaporeanlandlord/the-best-investment-yet-to-be-c4526838b003

The Right Time to Invest: https://medium.com/@singaporeanlandlord/the-right-time-to-invest-16acb2c639dc

If you enjoy my writing, do give me a “clap” and reach out to me if you have any questions. I can be easily contacted via Facebook, send me a DM.

--

--