Update on Fund Managers Q4 2021

Singaporean Landlord
3 min readJan 2, 2022

--

Do Fund Managers look like this? I don’t think so.

Last time I wrote on this topic, I wrote about hiring 2 Fund Managers. Interestingly, another 2 Fund Managers were hired. So that makes 4. Let me share a little about how I met the other 2. After which I will share on their performances in Q4 2021.

Fund Manager #3

This guy contacted me and told me about his “Active Rebalancing” method and I thought it will be good to give him a try. He said he re-balances about once a month or once a quarter. Fulfills only 2 criteria so I am breaking a rule here (Criterion 1: Must be recommended by a friend who has financial background).

Fund Manager #4

This guy was recommended by a member in my private telegram group and I thought it’s worth a try. He said he re-balances about once a year. Fulfills my 3 criteria (1. Must be recommended by a friend who has financial background, 2. Around my age or younger, 3. Must be very, very good with money).

Performance

FM1’s portfolio was invested in Global Tech, India and China. From 1 October to 31 December 2021, the portfolio performed flat, -0.84% quarter on quarter and there was no contact throughout Q4 2021 so I guess that means there’s nothing to update.

FM2’s portfolio was invested in Global Tech, Asian Growth, India and China. From 1 October to 31 December 2021, the portfolio performed flat, -1.27% quarter on quarter and there was a contact point on 3 Nov 2021 but nothing much to update.

FM3’s portfolio was invested in Japan, then switched to Global Tech on 21 October and then switched to Money Markets on 10 December. From 1 October to 31 December 2021, the portfolio performed negatively, -3.78% quarter on quarter. There were contact points during each switch and also during festivities.

FM4’s portfolio was invested in US Tech and Asian Growth on 14 October and it was a timed entry. He felt that 1 October entry was not ideal. From 14 October to 31 December 2021, the portfolio performed flat -1.15% quarter on quarter and there was no contact after the timed entry so I guess that means there’s nothing to update.

Benchmarks

I created 2 benchmarks to assess performance of the Fund Managers. The first benchmark comprises 3 tickers, SPY, QQQ and TQQQ. From 1 October to 31 December 2021, the portfolio performed positively, 11.79% quarter on quarter. The second benchmark comprises of 1 ticker, TQQQ. From 1 October to 31 December 2021, the portfolio performed positively, 30.82% quarter on quarter.

Conclusion

Based on Q4 2021 performances by the various Fund Managers as compared to the benchmarks, I have decided to continue monitoring their performances. I am planning to invest more in 2022

Relevant Links

Why I hired a Fund Manager: https://medium.com/@singaporeanlandlord/why-i-hired-a-fund-manager-a2624df88bae

A day in my Investment Journey: https://medium.com/@singaporeanlandlord/a-day-in-my-investment-journey-c37012e1c38b

If you enjoy my writing, do give me a “clap” and reach out to me if you have any questions. I can be easily contacted via Facebook, send me a DM.

--

--