STATEMENT OF PURPOSE :-Part- III

Senthuja Sinthusan
2 min readOct 13, 2023

--

Before read this story, have look on the part-II https://medium.com/@sinthusansenthuja/statement-of-purpose-part-ii-2433759b4161

Please explain your reasons for choosing the UK for your further studies. What are the reasons for not choosing your home country or other popular study destination?

Sri Lanka offers its citizens free education up to their Bachelor’s. I am very thankful for my mother nation which encouraged me to complete my education up to a degree through this free education system. I selected the UK, as my study destination, with an aim to gain experiences like quality education, international exposure, and skills that I cannot earn through local exposure. That will help me to face both professional and personal challenges and find my own solutions. Further, the UK is a country of immigrants from all over the world, different perspectives are respected, and learning together is encouraged. I have a long-cherished desire to enrich my experience and knowledge with foreign exposure and to do so in one of the best education systems in the world would be a dream come true.

Obtaining a degree program is not purely an educational qualification but also a thriving way of displaying that you are competent enough to work in the cooperate industry. The University of Moratuwa offered a similar kind of course (https://uom.lk/msc-pg-diploma-computer-science ). I researched for this postgraduate program, though most of the curriculums of those programs are merely based on the theoretical aspect and the practical content is not to the mark that I’m expecting. I discussed this with some of my co-workers and friends in the IT industry and they recommended that the best option for me to grow my career was to look for an overseas education qualification that would highlight me from others when it comes to job opportunities in Sri Lanka. When comparing the two study methods for postgraduate programs in Sri Lanka and the UK the difference lies in the career paths, where Sri Lankan postgraduate programs are more academic centric to that of the UK more career focused on the field of study. For example, when it comes to post-graduate programs in the UK it is categorized into research-based, project-based, and coursework-based programs which are not available for me to select in Sri Lanka. If I get the opportunity to pursue higher studies in the UK, I would be able to overcome the drawbacks in Sri Lanka as the UK education system poses cutting-edge technological content and having highly qualified academic staff members is a huge advantage for me in moving forward.

There are several reasons that might deter individuals from considering America, Canada, and Australia as their preferred destinations for higher education. In contrast, the UK offers advantages such as shorter-term courses and more affordable tuition fees, along with manageable living costs. Furthermore, in comparison to the UK, the United States has a higher crime rate, Canada experiences extreme cold weather conditions, and Australia is prone to natural disasters. These factors contribute to my decision to select the UK as my preferred destination for higher education.

--

--