Install TablePlus on Ubuntu [18.04 — Bionic Beaver] or possibly above.

Syed Sirajul Islam Anik
3 min readOct 27, 2020

--

Image from: https://tableplus.com/assets/images/linux-alpha/tableplus-ubuntu.png

I have been using MacBook pro for the last 3+ years. Nah, those were never mine. Just the office’s device. But during the nights or weekends, I used to use my own HP Probook that has Ubuntu 18.04 installed on it. But, to be very honest, macOS and the apps are super awesome. From March till last week, I was using the office MBP and was fed up recently using that due to the RAM. MBP had 8GB of RAM and I had almost 20 docker services running simultaneously. Multiple Chrome windows, 4 instances of PHPStorms, Postman, Tableplus, and many more. If the laptop could speak, would have spoken out loud with swears. Out of anger, I thought to switch back to my HP Probook with 16 GB RAM and 240GB SSD. Now, Everything is running smoothly. But then I found another issue. There is no good DBMS Client for Ubuntu. After searching for hours, I found TablePlus is also available for Linux. Then I tried to install TablePlus.

You’ll hardly find any article or tutorial for a full go through. Everyone uttered the same.

  • Add the PPA
  • Update source list
  • Install TablePlus

But the problem occurred when I try to run the installation sudo apt-get install tableplus after completing the previous steps. It went through an error.

The following packages have unmet dependencies:
tableplus : Depends: libgtksourceview-3.0-dev but it is not going to be installed
E: Unable to correct problems, you have held broken packages.

Cannot install, due to the dependent packages can't be found in your system. So, I dig down the issue, tried to install one after another till I reach the root of the solution. So, as I am running Ubuntu 18.04, I am going to tell you the steps I followed.

  • Firstly, I added the PPA repository to my system.
wget -O - -q http://deb.tableplus.com/apt.tableplus.com.gpg.key | sudo apt-key add -
  • Then added the tableplus in my sources list
# Edit with your favorite editor, nano is what I used.
sudo nano /etc/apt/sources.list.d/tableplus.list
# And added the following line
deb [arch=amd64] https://deb.tableplus.com/debian tableplus main
  • Then run the update command.
sudo apt-get update
  • Then run the install command
sudo apt-get install tableplus
  • If the install command shows errors like mine [quoted above], then install the following dependencies
sudo apt-get install libfreetype6 libfontconfig1-dev libcairo2-dev libpango1.0-dev

For me, the above packages are dependent on one another and to tableplus.

  • After successfully installing the packages, you can now run the install command again.
sudo apt-get install tableplus

And, this should successfully install the TablePlus on your PC.

If the above package installation doesn’t solve the issue, then you can backtrack the installation and you’ll find the root from where you can start installing the dependent packages.

Finally, if you ever used TablePlus on your macOS-based computers, you’ll totally regret it, I assure you.

Anyway, happing coding and installation. ❤

--

--

Syed Sirajul Islam Anik

software engineer with "Senior" tag | procrastinator | programmer | !polyglot | What else 🙄 — Open to Remote