TP-Link admin interface shows Apache landing page

Syed Sirajul Islam Anik
2 min readDec 27, 2019

--

It’s was back in 2013/2014. Just like other students, I was sitting in my Computer Network Lab. I never liked any subject like programming. I never understood networking. I was never bothered about my CGPA, at least till now. I never tried to understand them. Just read the book before the exams and vomit them on the exam papers. That’s what I did throughout my entire B.Sc life.

The problem arises now for understanding them then. From last noon, I couldn’t connect to the internet through my wifi’s network. Connecting to the mobile hotspot was quite okay. Even I could access the admin interface from my mobile. Tried few things last night, nothing helped at all. I couldn’t browse any page through that wifi, not even the web interface for tp-link admin was loading.

So, I called one of my colleagues. He was in a rush and suggested me to change the mac address primarily and if nothing happens then restore the factory settings. I tried changing the mac address. This webpage shows how to change the mac address. If you run through interface up or insufficient permissions issue, then try the following. My interface was wlp2s0

No luck! Searching through the internet didn’t help. So I called another colleague of mine. He asked me if I messed up with my IP recently or not. As I was running my applications through the docker which immediately caught my attention. I created a few containers last noon & one of them was using the 192.168.0.1 network. Damn! That’s why! 😠

So, he helped me out over the phone to change the IP address from 192.168.0.1 to whatever I wished. So, I used this IP.

It runs smoothly now. 🐵

Solve:

For mac, added the address pools like below. Docker app > Preferences > Daemon > Advance.

"default-address-pools": [
{
"base": "193.0.0.0/16",
"size": 24
}
]

You can add the base to whatever you want.

--

--

Syed Sirajul Islam Anik

software engineer with "Senior" tag | procrastinator | programmer | !polyglot | What else 🙄 — Open to Remote