Van life is not for everyone… but it’s right for me

Robbie J
3 min readNov 18, 2023

Why I sold everything to live in a van

By Robbie J

I’m sitting outside, surrounded by a beautiful forest, thinking about the last 4 1/2 years of my van life. It’s not been without its challenges, but for me, the benefits greatly out way them.

Going back five years ago, like many people I had a house. I also had a life-changing event with the death of my sister, and a water leak that caused extensive damage to my house. I ended up living in my bedroom for eight months while the repairs and remodel were done. Once the repairs were done, I realized my house was too big for me. I had grown accustomed to a 12’ x 16’ space.

Too much stuff

I felt weighted down by too much space and too many things, so I started researching tiny homes and minimalist living. Many hours of YouTube videos later, I came to the conclusion that I wanted to try RV living. Talk about going down a rabbit hole. There were so many choices and so many price points.

After quite a bit of research, I knew what I didn’t want, but I was still searching for the type of RV that would fulfill my need for a more minimalistic life.

I looked at cargo type trailers and small trailers that my SUV could pull. I looked at vans thinking about perhaps doing…

--

--

Robbie J

My passion is traveling and writing. I am a full time Van Lifer. I want to share my experiences so others can get a glimpse into this lifestyle.