BGTW MEA finalists 2019

Simon Willmore
Oct 15 · 4 min read

finalists in the 2019 BGTW Members’ Excellence Awards have been announced! The
winners are announced at the BGTW Annual Gala Awards Dinner, at The Savoy hotel
in central London at the start of November — see for details.

finalists are:

Best UK Travel Feature

Best Europe Travel Feature

Best Wider World Travel Feature

Best Short-Read Travel Feature

  • Emma Gregg ( for ‘Hot air ballooning over the herds’ published in National Geographic Traveller
  • John Malathronas ( for ‘All Is Calm, All is Bright: In the Footsteps of Silent Night’ published in National Geographic Traveller
  • Adrian Phillips ( for ‘Sri Lanka: A Whale of a Time’ published in National Geographic Traveller
  • Kathryn Tomasetti ( for ‘Why you need to explore Charleston’s southern-modern foodie scene’ published in The Independent
  • Isabel Conway ( for ‘My Quick-Fix Camino’ published in Irish Independent
  • Mike Unwin ( for ‘My week as a Mongolian nomad’ published in Sunday Telegraph

Best Transport Feature — The Kenneth Westcott-Jones Award

Rutherford ( for ‘Africa’s first high-speed
train has just launched — we were on board’ published in The Daily Telegraph
Emma Thomson ( for ‘Riding the Reunification
Express’ published in National Geographic Traveller
Ben Lerwill ( for ‘Cross-Country Champion’
published in The Sunday Times
Claire Boobbyer ( for ‘A Cycling Revolution:
E-biking Cuba’ published in Wanderlust
Shafik Meghji ( for ‘Riding the railway to the
end of the world’ published in
Jon Holmes ( for ‘Alaska: Railroad to
Nowhere’ published in

Best Travel Guidebook — The Adele Evans Award

Bradt ( for ‘Exmoor National Park’ by
Bradt Travel Guides
Rudolf Abraham ( for ‘Croatia’ by Walks and
Helen Ochyra ( ‘The Rough Guide to the Great
West Way’ by Rough Guides

BGTW Blogger of the Year

Forster ( for Go Eat Do
Sarah Lee ( for Live Share Travel
Kathryn Burrington ( for Travel With Kat
Kirstie Pelling ( for Family Adventure Project
Steph Dyson ( for Worldly Adventurer
Lucy Dodsworth ( for On the Luce

BGTW Broadcaster of the Year

Phillips ( for James Martin’s Saturday
Morning (travel segment) / ITV
Juliet Rix ( for From Our Own Correspondent
— Dominica after the hurricane / BBC Radio 4
Jonathan Thompson ( for How To Do Las Vegas Like A
High Roller /
Susan Schwartz ( for Why Savoie wines will knock
your skis off! / Lush Life Podcast
Jon Holmes ( for The St Kitts Music Festival
/ BBC Radio

BGTW Photographer of the Year

Tim Bird
( for work published in Blue
Wings and
Diana Jarvis ( for work published in, Cool Places, and National Geographic
James Rushforth ( for work published in
Photographing the Dolomites, 50 Years of Adventure Special Edition Book and
Solent News Sales
Mark Andrews ( for work published in Vacations
and Travel Magazine, Straits Times, Scoot and Serendib

BGTW Writer of the Year

Gregg ( for work published National
Geographic Traveller and Wanderlust
Adrian Phillips ( for work published in National
Geographic Traveller Family and National Geographic Traveller
James Stewart ( for work published in Sunday
Telegraph, Sunday Times and Which? Travel
Emma Thomson ( for work published in The
Sunday Telegraph and National Geographic Traveller UK
Ben Lerwill ( for work published in National
Geographic Traveller, / The Sunday Times and FRANCE Magazine
Jon Holmes ( for work published in and Sunday Times Travel

Originally published at BGTW.

    Welcome to a place where words matter. On Medium, smart voices and original ideas take center stage - with no ads in sight. Watch
    Follow all the topics you care about, and we’ll deliver the best stories for you to your homepage and inbox. Explore
    Get unlimited access to the best stories on Medium — and support writers while you’re at it. Just $5/month. Upgrade