5 Important Travel Photography Tips

Sarah Welsh
1 min readMar 19, 2018

--

I first received my own camera when I was 12 years old and I’ve been taking photographs ever since. I take my camera nearly everywhere I go and am constantly on the look-out for interesting moments to capture as they happen. Getting to travel and experience new cultures while helping others is my ultimate passion, which has lead me to travel photography and photojournalism.

Over the years, I’ve studied countless photographs and articles from renowned publications like National Geographic and Time and their photographers. There is far more to great travel photography than simply pressing a button and being in the right place at the right time. It takes patience, dedication, determination, and having an eye for the subject matter and moments that may be fleeting or otherwise overlooked. Below, I’ve created an infographic of the top five most important tips for travel photography, based on my own experiences and research and advice from distinguished professionals.

--

--