Artist Feature: Goffie

Skev Beats
3 min readJul 8, 2020

--

I discovered Goffie searching for artists on Twitter in July 2019. I actively search for new talent and I saw that he posted a tweet looking for a new producer to work with. I initially sent him a few beat links he didn’t really vibe with but what stood out to me the most was his response to my message. It’s hard enough to get ppl to open an email and listen to what you sent, but his response was him showing appreciation for me hitting him up.

Since discovering him hes become my favorite collaborator. Extremely professional, talented, and knows what he wants out of his music. We have a few songs out I absolutely love and am gracious I get to work with one of my favorite artists! Big ups to you Goffie, I am glad I get to be apart of your journey.

Here is his story and more about his creative process.

Artist Bio: My name is Kyle (aka Goffie) and I’m from Louisville, KY. Moved here for school back in 2015. I came from a really small town in Indiana called Tell City. It wasn’t really the place for me so when I could get out, I had to. My family really doesn’t know much about where I got my musical ability from. No one in my immediate family really ever had an ear for it. I was just passionate about It and have been since I was a small child.

-How do you usually find your production to use for songs? Is your main goal to have producers you know and can count on?

I’d say it’s a mix of finding new and working with the artist you know you love. I never want to make music with only the same people. Working with new producers creates more of a challenge and pushes my creativity. However, I’ll always love working with my favorite producers. There’s something special about that.

-How long have you been creating music?What made you start?

I actually started acoustic music back in 2015. I was touring and going the DIY route. I started Goffie back in January 2019. Music for me has just always been such an important part of my life. I have sang for as long as I could remember. I just wanted to create and I forced myself to do it.

-What did you enjoy about working with me as a producer?

I love working with you because you can do so many different genres well. I can be like send me an R&B beat and boom. Then I can be like, give me like a fun, pop song and you crush it! Really helps me explore my voice.

-How do you write to beats? Start with writing a hook or do you freestyle?

So I always write the hook first. I will sit down and really focus on the hook until figure out the melody I want. For the verses, I will freestyle until I feel like I get the right one.

-Favorite thing about the beat I produced, my other work you’ve heard

You really just have a solid grasp of the genres and how to make the beats in whatever your working with. I have noticed that with every beat you’ve sent me! It’s super impressive.

-Goals for rest of year, releasing a new project?

I have my new album that was done entirely with my friend, Brody, dropping Mid April.

After that I’m working on a Summer vibe record!

Before the end of the year I really just want to work on my growth. Would love to have a song hit 100k on Spotify and hit 10k monthly listeners.

-What is your favorite vibe to make with a song? Bpm, Genre, Instruments?

Dark pop is definitely my favorite to make. I get to combine the elements of pop I love with the songwriting style of my favorite Emo music growing up.

Check out the New song I produced for Goffie -Bad Memories.

--

--